God

God

3.59 (42 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$10.09

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Where does God come from? Has he always existed? What kind of food does he eat? The answers to all these questions, small and large, are in the Bible, or have been written about by those who know him best - saints, popes and visionaries. In this fascinating account of God's life, Alexander Waugh, author of TIME, tackles the biggest subject of them all in his uniquely refreshing and enthusiastic style. So many stories about God have been forgotten, or edged out of the familiar tales that we have lost our understanding of him and how he has been viewed by mankind throughout the ages. Now we can once again find out more about who it is that we pray to.
show more

The Best Books of 2018

Check out the top books of the year on our page Best Books of 2018. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 192 x 26mm | 258.55g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0747266506
  • 9780747266501

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

'Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and dangers of religious belief ... funny and whimsical ... clever and perceptive' -- A C Grayling, Literary Review 20020301 'Peculiar and delightful... I loved it. Waugh's light-hearted approach is deceptive: some formidable research has gone into this book' -- Douglas Kennedy, Mail on Sunday 20020217 'A deeply felt and genuine exploration... Waugh's biography is a search for love - and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive.' -- Jeanette Winterson, The Times 20020227 'Ten out of ten for the idea, the approach, the style, the writing - above all, the writing - and the sublime audacity of it all ... Waugh writes like an impious angel; wittily and rivetingly' -- Michael Brown, Yorkshire Post 20020221 'A testimony to human ingenuity and imagination...Waugh's GOD combines philosophical wrangling with the delightfully insolent tone of 1066 AND ALL THAT' -- Christopher Silvester, Financial Times 20020302 '[Waugh's] sardonic, urbane tone is in the tradition of Gibbon or Hume...very funny. Pleasingly original...wherever you stand - or think you do - on the God question, this is a good read' -- Susan Elkin, Independent 20020411 'With mischievous wit and erudition...Waugh's tremendously funny book has, however, a serious purpose' -- S.B.Kelly, Scotland on Sunday 20020224 '[An] erudite, scholarly, irreverent and impeccably researched biography of the supreme being... daringly brilliant and witty treatise' -- George Osgerby, Tribune 20020412 'Colourful, funny, deep and perceptive' -- A.C.Grayling, Independent on Sunday 20020412 'An idiosyncratic, intriguing and often charming book about God' -- Brendan Walsh, The Tablet 20020316
show more

About Alexander Waugh

Alexander Waugh is the grandson of Evelyn Waugh and son of columnist Auberon Waugh and novelist Teresa Waugh. He was chief Opera Critic at both the Mail on Sunday and the London Evening Standard, and is also a publisher (Travelman Publishing), cartoonist and award-winning composer.
show more

Rating details

42 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 26% (11)
4 33% (14)
3 19% (8)
2 17% (7)
1 5% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X