Gloria Takes a Stand

Gloria Takes a Stand : How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World

4.08 (145 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 11-14 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.
Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon--Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 48 pages
  • 244 x 277 x 8mm | 522g
  • New York
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 168119676X
  • 9781681196763

Review quote

"A great read for younger kids who want to be inspired to make positive change in the world. Pair it with Debbie Levy's I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark. . . . An excellent picture book biography about a courageous activist, advocate, and leader." --School Library Journal

"Filled with bright pop art and thought-provoking images, patterns, and styles that transform as the years pass, Gloria's story will inspire a new generation to follow their dreams and fight for equality." --Foreword Reviews

"A tribute to feminist icon, activist, and writer Gloria Steinem. . . . Engaging." --Kirkus Reviews

"Give[s] a new generation background into Gloria Steinem's life and influence." --School Library Connection

"Adding to the growing, yet still needed, #MeToo books for young readers . . . Textured and digitally enhanced mixed-media illustrations evoke the diversity she celebrated." --Booklist
show more

About Jess Rinker

Jessica M. Rinker has a BA in social welfare from Bloomsburg University and an MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's a freelance writer and the author of several award-winning essays, poems, and short stories. By listening to people--real or fictional--and telling their stories, Jess hopes to make change in the world just as Gloria has. She has three kids and currently lives in New Jersey with her husband, also a children's author.
@jm_rinker

Daria Peoples-Riley makes children's books with a few inspirational words and a whole lot of colorful paint. She is a former 6th grade teacher who hopes to change the world one book at a time. She has also illustrated This Is It.
www.dariapeoples.com
@DariaPeoples
show more

Rating details

145 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 34% (49)
4 45% (65)
3 17% (25)
2 4% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X