The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman

3.74 (2,459 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

1686, Iceland. A cold, windswept land where they talk of witches and fear strangers . . .

'Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful' Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

'A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it' Sophie Mackintosh, author of The Water Cure
____________

When Rosa is betrothed to Jon Eiriksson, she is sent to a remote village.

There she finds a man who refuses to speak of his recently deceased first wife, and villagers who view her with suspicion.

Isolated and disturbed by her husband's strange behaviour, her fears deepen.

What is making the strange sounds in the attic?

Who does the mysterious glass figure she is given represent?

And why do the villagers talk of the coming winter darkness in hushed tones?

The Glass Woman is a mysterious and captivating tale of love, fear and superstition, perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, The Silent Companions, and The Bear & The Nightingale.
____________

'ENTHRALLING' Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars & The Foundling

'CRACKLES WITH TENSION. MOVING AND ATMOSPHERIC, I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions & Bone China

'MEMORABLE AND COMPELLING. A NOVEL ABOUT WHAT HAUNTS US - AND WHAT SHOULD' Sarah Moss, author ofGhost Wall

'EVOCATIVE, COMPELLING, WITH A BRILLIANT TWIST' Daily Express

'AN ICELANDIC JANE EYRE . . . COMPELLING, ATMOSPHERIC' Sunday Times

'INTENSELY WRITTEN AND ATMOSPHERIC, WITH AN UNUSUAL SETTING' Daily Mail

'A CHILLING TALE' Good Housekeeping

'LIKE A GHOST STORY TOLD AROUND A WINTER FIRE Tim Leach, author of Smile of the Wolf

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION DEBUT AWARD
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 280g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405934611
  • 9781405934619
  • 69,564

Review quote

A rare look at male witch trials, set in Iceland * Guardian * A chilling and enthralling telling of the Icelandic witch trials. Not only beautifully drawn but poignant, evocative and fascinating. A haunting gothic tale' * Historia * Mystery and potential danger linger throughout, and with its dreamy prose THE GLASS WOMAN satisfies readers with the ways of an old world * Publisher's Weekly * A haunting novel that delivers chills. THE GLASS WOMAN is charged with the dark energy of the Icelandic Sagas * Kirkus Reviews * A gorgeous book about the power of stories that makes the landscape of Iceland as powerful a character as any of the humans * Sarah Shaffi, PHOENIX * A tense, Iceland-set thriller * Sunday Post * Tells the tale of the Icelandic witch trials * Red * Eerie and atmospheric * Daily Telegraph * Suspenseful, gripping and beautifully drawn * Cecilia Ekback, author of 'Wolf Winter' * Lea draws upon Jane Eyre, Rebecca and Bluebeard to create an eerie, unsettling atmosphere ... Full of promise, and I look forward to reading more from Lea * Daily Telegraph * Is this some Icelandic version of Jane Eyre in which a madwoman lurks in the attic? Or do ghosts haunt the household? In a sense they do, although the truth Rosa eventually uncovers in this compelling, atmospheric novel are more material and more disturbing than her imaginings * Sunday Times * Tremendous. Atmospheric and beautifully wrought, The Glass Woman is both chilling and beguiling * Elizabeth Fremantle * Like a ghost story told around a winter fire, The Glass Woman is taut, haunting, and broodingly tense. Playing out against the harsh backdrop of the Icelandic winter, it kept me hooked all the way to the end * Tim Leach, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Smile of the Wolf' * Haunting, evocative and utterly compelling. The beautifully drawn narrative transports the reader to a time and place steeped in mystery and superstition, where nothing is ever quite as it seems. Stunning * Tracy Borman, author of 'The King's Witch' * Utterly unputdownable. Rich in superstition and mystery, it pulled me in. An incredible novel * Ali Land, author of Sunday Times Bestselling 'Good Me Bad Me' * A gothic novel for a cold climate. Mesmerising * Elly Griffiths, author of THE STRANGER DIARIES * Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful * Sara Collins, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON * Crackles with tension. Moving and atmospheric, I couldn't put it down * Laura Purcell, author of THE SILENT COMPANIONS and THE CORSET * An enthralling tale of the Icelandic witch trials * Stacey Halls, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS * Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling * Daily Mail * A chilling tale * Good Housekeeping * Compelling, atmospheric * The Times * This evocative debut is compelling with a brilliant twist * Daily Express * Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should * Sarah Moss, author of The Times Book of the Year 'Ghost Wall' * A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it * Sophie Mackintosh, Man Booker longlisted author of 'The Water Cure' * The eerie opening brilliantly sets the scene for a suspenseful read. A tremor cracks open an ice floe and an arm appears, plunging the reader into a harsh landscape and a world of suspicions and secrets * Sunday Express * A fantastic, atmospheric debut * The Times *
show more

About Caroline Lea

Caroline Lea grew up in Jersey and gained a First in English Literature and Creative Writing from Warwick University, where she now teaches writing. Her fiction and poetry have been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize, and The Glass Woman was shortlisted for the HWA Debut Crown.
show more

Rating details

2,459 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 22% (529)
4 42% (1,042)
3 27% (674)
2 7% (165)
1 2% (49)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X