Glamour in Glass
25%
off

Glamour in Glass

3.74 (3,866 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Mary Robinette Kowal stunned readers with her charming Nebula Award - nominated first novel, "Shades of Milk and Honey", a loving tribute to Jane Austen in a world where magic is an everyday occurrence. "Glamour" allows talented users to form any illusion they can imagine. After Napoleon abdicates, Jane and Vincent go to the Continent for their honeymoon. But the deposed emperor escapes his exile, throwing Europe into turmoil. When Vincent is captured as a British spy, Jane realizes that their honeymoon has been a ruse. Vincent has been capturing glamour folds in glass, sending vital information back to England. Left with no outward salvation, Jane must use the glamour at her disposal to rescue her husband from prison ...and - she hopes - prevent her newly built marriage from getting stranded on the shoals of another country's war.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 149.86 x 213.36 x 35.56mm | 385.55g
  • Tor Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0765325578
  • 9780765325570
  • 479,424

Review quote

"The setting and the intricate techniques of glamour manipulation continue to intrigue, and the thoughtful portrayal of the difficulties of Jane and Vincent's affectionately nontraditional partnership is thoroughly engaging." --Publishers Weekly "This is a wonderful book. Kowal has taken such care grounding her story in the time and place in which it's set that the addition of magic is truly seamless. Jane is a superb heroine." --RT Book Reviews "Prepare to settle in and snuggle up in your comfiest chair; once you start reading, you won't want to stop." --Library Journal "Will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susanna Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde." --Library Journal on Shades of Milk and Honey "Kowal sets her own mark on this kind of comedy of manners and creates a low-key and witty debut novel, one that succeeds through understated humor and sprightly prose, rather than through absurd juxtapositions of the historical and the supernatural." --San Francisco Chronicle on Shades of Milk and Honey "Shades of Milk and Honey could easily fit into Austen's canon, except of course for the inclusion of magic. Kowal has captured both the style and content of an Austen novel, adding her own speculative fiction twist...hits all the high points of Austen's dialogue and plotting while still having its own identity." --The Jane Austen Center on Shades of Milk and Honey "If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, [this] would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal's prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit. The characterization is extremely well done and Jane is a sympathetic, strong and intelligent heroine whose devotion to her family trumps nearly every other concern." --RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!, Seal of Excellence winner on Shades of Milk and Honey "A lovely, smart, strange novel with everything on earth (and elsewhere) to recommend it. Smoothly crafted with a flair for romance and mystery, this story is one part meticulous manners and one part wild magic--composing a whole that's utterly irresistible." --Cherie Priest on Shades of Milk and Honey "A beautiful, lyrical, tightly woven meld of Jane Austen, Jane Eyre, and Beauty and the Beast--I couldn't put it down!" --Lilith Saintcrow on Shades of Milk and Honey "Simply enchanting, and another great advance in an already impressive literary career. You're going to love this." --John Scalzi on Shades of Milk and Honeyshow more

About Mary Robinette Kowal

Mary Robinete Kowal was the 2008 recipient of the Campbell Award for Best New Writer and a Hugo winner for her story "For Want of a Nail." Her short fiction has appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov's, and several Year's Best anthologies. Mary is an active member of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and currently serves on the board of directors. A professional puppeteer and voice actor, Mary grew up in North Carolina and spent five years touring nationally with puppet theaters. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband, Rob, and nine manual typewriters.show more

Rating details

3,866 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 19% (736)
4 45% (1,724)
3 30% (1,152)
2 5% (201)
1 1% (53)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X