The Glamour Chase

The Glamour Chase : Maverick Life of Billy MacKenzie

4.15 (65 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Foreword by 

List price: US$14.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

This biography celebrates the ups and downs of the career of musician Billy MacKenzie. Billy MacKenzie was found dead, at his father's home in Scotland, on 22nd January 1997. He was 39 and had taken an overdose of prescribed sleeping pills. MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry, but his wild and mischievous spirit probably did him more harm than good in the end. As lead singer of the Associates, gifted with an operatic voice and a talent that seemed somehow otherworldly, Billy MacKenzie - together with his partner Alan Rankine - enjoyed a handful of top 20 hits in 1982. At the height of their success however, MacKenzie and Rankine split, chiefly owing to Billy's reluctance to tour. Over the following years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged working methods, generous spirit and knack of squandering large amounts of record accompany money. His unique voice attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, for whom he wrote "The Rhythm Divine", and U2's Bono. In the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent. The author of this biography has conducted more than 50 new interviews with MacKenzie's family.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 20mm | 199.58g
  • Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • Facsimiles, Portrait
  • 0747543992
  • 9780747543992

Rating details

65 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 32% (21)
4 51% (33)
3 17% (11)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X