The Girls in the Lake

The Girls in the Lake : An addictive and gripping crime thriller

4.28 (817 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy's curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below...

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim's lack of clothes make Forensic Pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend's body on the mortuary table that morning.

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it's up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed...

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It's a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago.

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it's going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he's been right beside her all along?

An absolutely unputdownable serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!



Reader adore Helen Phifer!

'I loved this book... Sucks you in on the first page and doesn't let you go until the climactic end... kept me hanging on to every word.' Bonnie's Book Talk, 5 stars

'Outstanding... Well plotted, gripping in the true sense of the word and a real thriller. This story grabbed me from page one and held me all the way through. One of my favourite summer reads to date!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'It was nail biting... I was completely blindsided when the truth was finally revealed... I loved the speed with which I turned the pages... I want book 2 as soon as possible.' Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars

'A humdinger of a Crime Thriller that grabs you and draws you in from the brilliantly written and powerful opening scene to the nail-biting, butt-clenching finale... Fabulous first in the series, tightly plotted, gritty narrative and very believable, engaging characters... I look forward to more in the series - loved it and would certainly recommend.' Netgalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Oh wow! This is such a gripping read, I was hooked from the first page.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 266 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 15mm | 263g
  • Twickenham, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1786819260
  • 9781786819260
  • 1,685,548

Rating details

817 ratings
4.28 out of 5 stars
5 48% (391)
4 36% (293)
3 13% (110)
2 2% (19)
1 0% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X