The Girls I've Been
5%
off

The Girls I've Been

4.2 (4,083 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Soon to be a Netflix film starring Stranger Things' Millie Bobby Brown - this must-read psychological thriller, perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, will leave you guessing until the final page.

As an ex con artist, Nora has always got herself out of tricky situations. But the ultimate test lies in wait when she's taken hostage in a bank heist. And this time, Nora doesn't have an escape plan ...

Meet Nora. Also known as Rebecca, Samantha, Haley, Katie and Ashley - the girls she's been.

Nora didn't choose a life of deception - she was born into it. As the daughter of a con artist who targeted criminal men, Nora always had to play a part. But when her mother fell for one of the men instead of conning him, Nora pulled the ultimate con herself: escape.

For five years Nora's been playing at normal - but things are far from it when she finds herself held at gunpoint in the middle of a bank heist, along with Wes (her ex-boyfriend) and Iris (her secret new girlfriend and mutual friend of Wes ... awkward). Now it will take all of Nora's con artistry skills to get them out alive.

Because the gunmen have no idea who she really is - that girl has been in hiding for far too long ...

'Slick, stylish and full of suspense' - Sophie McKenzie.
'A powerful gut-punch of a book that will leave you reeling long after its final pages. I couldn't put it down!' - Chelsea Pitcher.
'Unlike anything I've read before... immediate, gripping, incredibly tense, heart-breaking, heart-warming and FUN! ' - Holly Jackson.
'I could hardly breathe until I finished. The tension! Absolutely loved it.' - Emily Barr
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 50mm | 258g
  • Hodder Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • None
  • 1444960113
  • 9781444960112
  • 5,389

Review quote

A captivating, explosive, and satisfyingly queer thriller * Kirkus * The Girls I've Been is unlike anything I've read before: immediate, gripping, incredibly tense, heart-breaking, heart-warming and FUN! The hot-red suspense of both Nora's past and the unfolding robbery at the bank had me racing through the chapters to find out what happens. This brilliant, thrilling, twisty book held me hostage until the very last page. * Holly Jackson * Grifters! Secret identities! Death-defying escapes! The Girls I've Been is a powerful gut-punch of a book that will leave you reeling long after its final pages. I couldn't put it down! * Chelsea Pitcher * 'Slick, stylish and full of suspense * Sophie McKenzie * Oh my god, I could hardly breathe until I finished. The tension! Absolutely loved it. * Emily Barr * Fiercely captivating and impressively characterized, this tightly plotted thriller is engrossing from start to finish. * Booklist * [A] romance, a tragedy and a story about reclaiming agency and power. It is a triumph. * BookPage *
show more

About Tess Sharpe

Born in a mountain cabin to a punk rocker mother, Tess Sharpe grew up in rural Northern California. She lives deep in the backwoods with a pack of dogs and a growing cabal of slightly feral cats. FAR FROM YOU was her debut novel.

You can follow Tess on Twitter @sharpegirl and Instagram @forest_of_arden
show more

Rating details

4,083 ratings
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 41% (1,685)
4 42% (1,704)
3 14% (567)
2 2% (98)
1 1% (29)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X