The Girls

The Girls

3.47 (130,071 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by  , Producer 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from Australia in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon.

Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerising older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged - a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realise she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong - this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad.
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 134 x 146mm | 205g
  • Bolinda/Audible audio
  • Australia
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged edition
  • 1489360948
  • 9781489360946

Review quote

'Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry ...' -- The New York Times Book Review 'Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline's ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that's gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager's consciousness.' -- The Washington Post 'Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.' -- Lena Dunham 'I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.' -- Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
show more

About Emma Cline

Emma Cline was the winner of The Paris Review's Plimpton Prize in 2014. She is from California. Cady McClain is an American actress, singer and author. She is a two-time Emmy winner for her roles on daytime television programmes, All My Children and As the World Turns, and has appeared in a number of independent and studio films. In 2014, McClain released her widely-acclaimed memoir, Murdering My Youth, an in-depth look into life as a child actor and her struggles to survive an alcoholic family system. In 2016 she received an AudioFile Earphones Award for her reading of Emma Cline's The Girls. Audible is a seller and producer of spoken audio entertainment, information, and educational programming on the Internet.
show more

Rating details

130,071 ratings
3.47 out of 5 stars
5 15% (19,357)
4 36% (46,490)
3 34% (44,695)
2 12% (15,474)
1 3% (4,055)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X