Girl in the Blue Coat
28%
off

Girl in the Blue Coat

4.03 (12,455 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 147 x 216 x 25mm | 408g
  • English
  • 0316260606
  • 9780316260602
  • 1,063,415

Review quote

"Taut and intelligent... the historical setting is rendered the way only an expert can do it."
--The Washington Post
show more

About Monica Hesse

Monica Hesse is an author and journalist with The Washington Post. She lives in Washington, D.C. with her husband and their dog.
show more

Rating details

12,455 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 31% (3,831)
4 46% (5,745)
3 19% (2,412)
2 3% (389)
1 1% (78)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X