Girl With a Pearl Earring
34%
off

Girl With a Pearl Earring

3.84 (475,433 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An international bestseller with over two million copies sold, this is a story of an artist's desire for beauty and the ultimate corruption of innocence. 17th Century Holland. When Griet becomes a maid in the household of Johannes Vermeer in the town of Delft, she thinks she knows her role: housework, laundry and the care of his six children. But as she becomes part of his world and his work, their growing intimacy spreads tension and deception in the ordered household and, as the scandal seeps out, into the town beyond. Tracy Chevalier's extraordinary historical novel on the corruption of innocence and the price of genius is a contemporary classic perfect for fans of Sarah Dunant and Philippa Gregory.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 128 x 192 x 18mm | 158.76g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New ed
  • 0007232160
  • 9780007232161
  • 6,449

Review quote

'A portrait of radiance...Tracy Chevalier brings the real artist Vermeer and a fictional muse to life in a jewel of a novel' Time `Chevalier doesn't put a foot wrong in this triumphant work ... It is a beautifully written tale that mirrors the elegance of the painting that inspired it' Wall Street Journal 'It has a slow, magical current of its own that picks you up and carries you stealthily along...a beautiful story, lovingly told by a very talented writer' Daily Mail 'A wonderful novel, mysterious, steeped in atmosphere, deeply revealing about the process of painting...truly magical' Guardianshow more

About Tracy Chevalier

Tracy Chevalier is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, Remarkable Creatures, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, and The Lady and the Unicorn. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son. She has a website at www.tchevalier.com.show more

Review Text

A sumptuous new look for Tracy Chevalier's first two novels, which will help to introduce her books to a new range of fans. )Girl With A Pearl Earring(, the story of Vermeer and his artistic muse is her most famous book and was successfully adapted for cinema. )Falling Angels( concerns the intertwined lives of two English families at the beginning of the 20th century.show more

Rating details

475,433 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 28% (133,016)
4 39% (183,858)
3 25% (120,140)
2 6% (27,580)
1 2% (10,839)

Our customer reviews

Title says it all! I was set to read this book as part of my english course at school, and i was expecting a long dull story with lots of eyelid drooping speeches and pointless ideas. I was delightedly surprised to find a deep, complicated story of a girl trying to find her way in the world while staying true to herself. Griet's story is sad, heart wrenching and truly unforgettable. Based on the painting, Girl with the Pearl Earring will set your heart aflame for this young girl and the choices she must make.show more
by Lotti Moroney
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X