The Girl With a Mind for Math
19%
off

The Girl With a Mind for Math : The Story of Raye Montague

4.31 (281 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book 2019 Selection
NSTA Best STEM Trade Books for Students K-12 2019 Selection
2019 Amelia Bloomer List Selection
2019 Mathical Honor Book

Meet Raye Montague-the hidden mastermind who made waves in the U.S. Navy!

After touring a German submarine in the early 1940s, young Raye set her sights on becoming an engineer. Little did she know sexism and racial inequality would challenge that dream every step of the way, even keeping her greatest career accomplishment a secret for decades. Through it all, the gifted mathematician persisted-finally gaining her well-deserved title in history: a pioneer who changed the course of ship design forever.

The Girl With a Mind for Math: The Story of Raye Montague is the third book in a riveting educational series about the inspiring lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you'll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Montague herself!
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 248 x 248 x 10.16mm | 521.63g
  • WA, United States
  • English
  • 1943147426
  • 9781943147427
  • 51,192

Review quote

"Part of the reason I love this one is that Raye is that rare woman celebrated in a children's book as a mathematician who did not work in computer science. It also contains a moment of such searing unfairness that it won't leave a single child reader unmoved. Plus it rhymes."--Fuse 8 Blog, School Library Journal "... a great model for building awareness of racism and solid inspiration for achieving against the odds."--Kirkus, starred review "A solid addition to the picture book biography shelves and STEAM curricula for young readers."--School Library Journal Praise for THE AMAZING SCIENTISTS series:
"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."
- School Library Journal "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."
-Booklist

"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."
-Kirkus Reviews

"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza

"Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."
- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore "Accompanied by expressive digitized illustrations, this rhyming picture-book biography describes the challenges and triumphs Montague met as an African American woman. . . Hidden Figures fans will applaud."--Booklist
show more

About Julia Finley Mosca

JULIA FINLEY MOSCA is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet-mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books.

DANIEL RIELEY is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working 3 years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last 2 years, Daniel has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Daniel is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.
show more

Rating details

281 ratings
4.31 out of 5 stars
5 49% (139)
4 35% (97)
3 15% (41)
2 1% (3)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X