The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
27%
off

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro

3.08 (2,869 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is the French phenomenon by Christine Feret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere, for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

When Juliette takes the metro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books - she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters' choices might say about them.

But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman - the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen - she is sure her life will never be the same again . . .

For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life - entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most - and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.

And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 208 pages
  • 139 x 207 x 28mm | 290g
  • Mantle
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 150986833X
  • 9781509868339
  • 53,510

Review Text

An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones. Avantages
show more

Review quote

A charming, cheery read crammed with literary references that will delight book lovers and Paris passionnes alike. * France Magazine * A beautiful tale, wonderfully crazy, for everyone who likes to end a book with a smile on their face. * Lire * A delightful novel! * Madame Figaro * An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones. * Avantages *
show more

About Christine Féret-Fleury

Christine Feret-Fleury began her career as a publisher at Gallimard Jeunesse. In 1996, she wrote her debut children's book, Le Petit Tamour, quickly followed in 1999 by her debut novel for adults, Les vagues sont douces comme des tigres, winner of the Antigone Prize. Since then, she has gone on to write eighty further books, and counting. A prolific reader, she likes to try her hand at each of the many literary genres she enjoys. The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is her first adult novel to be translated into English.
show more

Rating details

2,869 ratings
3.08 out of 5 stars
5 9% (269)
4 23% (661)
3 40% (1,147)
2 22% (619)
1 6% (173)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X