The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

3.86 (333 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

TFW you wake up and realise you're trending... #GirlOutoftheWoods

Arty has always lived in the Clearing, a commune hidden in the forests of south India. But her happy life, separate from the rest of the world, is shattered after a terrible event.

For the first time, Arty must leave her home, and head into the intriguing but frightening outside world. On the streets of India, a chance encounter leads to her becoming an unwilling overnight celebrity.

As she embarks on her journey, she discovers she is being followed by thousands of strangers, who seem to know her every move...

Forced to fight against mysterious hashtags and being constantly photographed, how can she find the help she desperately needs?

Everything is changing too fast for this girl who came out of the woods... could she be running into a trap?

The new thriller from the acclaimed author of The One Memory of Flora Banks, perfect for fans of Karen McManus, E. Lockhart and Sophie McKenzie.

Praise for The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods:

'Compelling and brilliantly written'- Fabulous Magazine

'Barr brilliantly captures Arty's naivety and eager innocence as she's swept up in the globalised world of capitalism and social media'- The Observer

'A pacey, original thriller' - The Guardian

'Arty's fresh insights into the world make for an amusing, poignant story' - The Sun
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 277g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241345227
  • 9780241345221
  • 31,210

About Emily Barr

THE ONE MEMORY OF FLORA BANKS published in 2017 was Emily Barr's first novel for young adults and was a global hit, publishing in 27 languages. Before that, she worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became BACKPACK, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world. She lives in Cornwall with her husband and their children.
show more

Rating details

333 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 29% (96)
4 42% (139)
3 20% (67)
2 6% (19)
1 4% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X