Girl in the Rearview Mirror

Girl in the Rearview Mirror

3.24 (1,201 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A twisty, page-turning debut thriller from Kelsey Rae Dimberg, Girl in the Rearview Mirror is a story about privilege and power, family and obligation, ambition and complicity, and the pull of the past on the present; perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Lost Man and Chris Hammer's Scrubland.

Desperate to put her past in the rearview mirror, Finn Hunt leaves the Midwest for Phoenix, Arizona, where no one knows her story.

While she's working a dead-end job, a chance meeting with Philip Martin, son of a prominent US Senator, leads Finn to a position as nanny for Amabel, his precocious four-year-old daughter. Quickly seduced into the Martins' privileged world, Finn can almost believe she belongs there, almost forget the dark past that haunts her.

Then, in the stifling heat of a desert summer as the Senator's re-election looms, a strange woman begins to follow Finn, claiming a connection to Philip and threatening to expose the family to scandal. As Finn tries to protect Amabel, and shield the Martins, she's inadvertently drawn deeper and deeper into their buried secrets.

The family trusts Finn, for now, but it will only take one mistake for everything she holds dear - the Martins' world, her new life - to fall apart . . .
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 28mm | 520g
  • MACMILLAN
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1509895817
  • 9781509895816
  • 1,131,762

Review quote

The concept is compelling * Western Morning News * There is much to enjoy here in this US crime debut from Kelsey Rae Dimberg * Evening Chronicle * Girl in the Rearview Mirror is a thrilling, thoughtful, and suspenseful debut that shines a light into how power changes everyone who has it, or is in close enough proximity to be consumed by it. I read Dimberg's book in a single sitting, and have no doubt readers will be as gripped by the narrative as I was -- Sarah Weinman, author of The Real Lolita: The Kidnapping of Sally Horner and the Novel That Scandalized the World Dimberg's evocative prose and affecting characters flag her as a writer to watch * Publisher's Weekly * Keep your eye out for this debut . . . a fantastic, gripping novel -- Samantha Downing, author of The Lovely Wife I felt the ghost of Mary Jo Kopechne hovering among the pages of Girl in the Rearview Mirror, a riveting tale of an appealing young woman caught in the thrall of a powerful political family's prestige and privilege -- Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author of Careful What You Wish For Girl in the Rearview Mirror is as beguiling a tale as the famous family at its center. Kelsey Rae Dimberg's briskly paced debut is both a mystery and a pointed portrait of wealth and privilege. It is a story of the thrill of stepping beneath the spotlight and the stark reckoning that awaits those who are cast out from beneath its glow -- Meghan MacLean Weir, author of The Book of Essie Utterly compelling, this story reveals its secrets slowly and mysteriously under the sweltering sun of Arizona. A gripping story that expertly weaves domestic and political intrigue -- Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister I tore through Girl in the Rearview Mirror; it really is a truly accomplished debut. Kelsey Rae Dimberg has that rare ability to blend breakneck pace with razor-sharp characterization and shimmering, immersive prose. A charged, tense, highly emotional story that will stay with you long after you turn the last page -- Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies and Stone Cold Heart With hairpin twists and immense psychological acuity, Kelsey Rae Dimberg's Girl in the Rearview Mirror is as seductive as the glamorous, privileged family at its center - and as cunning. An exciting, intoxicating debut, it will hold you until its startling final pages -- Megan Abbott, bestselling author of Give Me Your Hand
show more

About Kelsey Rae Dimberg

Kelsey Rae Dimberg received an MFA from the University of San Francisco and studied at Barrett Honors College of Arizona State University, where she was editor-in-chief of the literary magazine Lux, and received the Swarthout Award in Fiction. Girl in the Rearview Mirror is her first novel. Born in Seattle, Kelsey has lived in eight states, and currently resides in Milwaukee.
show more

Rating details

1,201 ratings
3.24 out of 5 stars
5 9% (106)
4 27% (329)
3 46% (556)
2 14% (169)
1 3% (41)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X