The Girl in the Photograph

The Girl in the Photograph

3.72 (4,838 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate.

When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish?

As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's . . .

Lifelong fans of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph.


Praise for The Girl in the Photograph:

'Full of slow-burning tension' Essentials

'A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts' Good Housekeeping

'A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere' Sunday Mirror

'A prickly story full of tension' Sunday Express
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 27mm | 309g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405917423
  • 9781405917421
  • 103,905

Review Text

Beautifully written, with intrigue and mystery. I was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded Dinah Jefferies
show more

Review quote

Beautifully written, with intrigue and mystery. I was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded -- Dinah Jefferies A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts * Good Housekeeping * Intelligent, poignant and highly recommended -- Louise Candlish Full of slow-burning tension * Essentials * Rich and atmospheric -- Rachel Hore Well-executed and brooding, with a creepy atmosphere * Sunday Mirror *
show more

About Kate Riordan

Kate Riordan is a writer and journalist. She is an avid reader of Daphne du Maurier and Agatha Christie, both of whom have influenced her writing. She lives in the Cotswolds, where she writes full-time. The Heatwave is her fourth novel.
show more

Rating details

4,838 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,021)
4 40% (1,950)
3 30% (1,449)
2 7% (330)
1 2% (88)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X