Girl Out of Water

Girl Out of Water

4 (4,615 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love with this good book for teen girls about finding yourself--and finding love--in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home--it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of her runaway mother, who has dropped in and out of her life since birth. And with every photo and text, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who dares her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Anise isn't one to shy away from a challenge. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Perfect for readers who like:

Teen romance books Teen realistic fiction books Tell Me Three Things and Five Feet Apart

Praise for Girl out of Water:
A Junior Library Guild Selection!
"Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han."--Booklist
"A novel that reads like a warm summer afternoon."--Paste Magazine
"[A]n entertaining and well-done coming-of-age story."--RT Book Reviews
"[W]orthy of a spot in any teen's beach bag."--School Library Journal

Also by Laura Silverman:
You Asked for Perfect
show more

Product details

  • 14+
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 15mm | 431g
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492646865
  • 9781492646860
  • 267,666

Review quote

"Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise's love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman's excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, reader will easily forget that he is missing an arm. Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han" - Booklist
show more

Rating details

4,615 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 42% (1,961)
4 28% (1,270)
3 21% (959)
2 7% (312)
1 2% (113)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X