Girl Out of Water
33%
off

Girl Out of Water

4.72 (1,781 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places. Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins. Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away. Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.show more

Product details

  • 14+
  • Paperback | 356 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 15mm | 431g
  • Sourcebooks, Inc
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492646865
  • 9781492646860
  • 7,564

Review quote

-Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise's love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman's excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, reader will easily forget that he is missing an arm. Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han- - Booklistshow more

Rating details

1,781 ratings
4.72 out of 5 stars
5 86% (1,538)
4 7% (117)
3 3% (52)
2 1% (25)
1 3% (49)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X