The Girl in the Lake
7%
off

The Girl in the Lake

5 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Small Spaces, Doll Bones, and Mary Downing Hahn, a truly chilling (and historically inspired) ghost story from the award-winning author of The Forgotten Girl.



Celeste knows she should be excited to spend two weeks at her grandparents' lake house with her brother, Owen, and their cousins Capri and Daisy, but she's not.

Bugs, bad cell reception, and the dark waters of the lake... no thanks. On top of that, she just failed her swim test and hates being in the water-it's terrifying. But her grandparents are strong believers in their family knowing how to swim, especially having grown up during a time of segregation at public pools.

And soon strange things start happening--the sound of footsteps overhead late at night. A flickering light in the attic window. And Celete's cousins start accusing her of pranking them when she's been no where near them!

Things at the old house only get spookier until one evening when Celeste looks in the steamy mirror after a shower and sees her face, but twisted, different...

Who is the girl in the mirror? And what does she want?

Past and present mingle in this spine-tingling ghost story by award-winning author India Hill Brown.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 140 x 210mm
  • English
  • 1338678884
  • 9781338678888

Review quote

Awards and Praise for The Forgotten Girl:



An NAACP Image Award Nominee for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens

2020 ALSC Notable Children's Book



This ghost story gave me chill after chill. It will haunt you. - R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps



Engaging, entrancing, and altogether magic! A classic ghost tale that examines racism and segregation in a meaningful story that at its core is about love, friendship, and forgiveness. A beautiful debut. - J. C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of The Storm Runner



A harrowing yet empowering tale reminding us that the past is connected to the present, that every place and every person has a story, and that those stories deserve to be told. - Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author of Piecing Me Together



Scary and spooky and sad and important. I loved every moment of it! - Ellen Oh, author of Spirit Hunters and founder of We Need Diverse Books



Frightening and mysterious. A new, creepy favorite. - Dan Poblocki, author of Shadow House and The Ghost of Graylock



Strong middle-grade characters who will undoubtedly be enjoyed by children and adults alike. The pacing of the plot will surely send a chill through the readers' spines as they follow Iris and her journey with the paranormal. [An] eerie read. - Booklist



Both historically and culturally relevant, Brown's thoughtful ghost story explores the legacy of racism through segregation. - Publishers Weekly



The historical information about school desegregation, segregated cemeteries, and the Great Migration are welcome, unique additions. A ghostly tale with a historical twist. - Kirkus Reviews
show more

About India Hill Brown

India Hill Brown is a southern belle who recently moved back down south to North Carolina after living in NYC and working at HBO. She is the author of the critically acclaimed middle grade novel The Forgotten Girl and she's also written for Teen Vogue, Essence, Sesi Mag, and The Everygirl.Visit her at booksandbighair.com or on Twitter at @booksandbighair.
show more

Rating details

2 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (2)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X