The Girl Is Murder

The Girl Is Murder

3.6 (1,513 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 342 pages
  • 142.24 x 213.36 x 33.02mm | 476.27g
  • Roaring Brook Press
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1596436093
  • 9781596436091
  • 830,870

Review quote

"Adult mystery author Haines's YA debut is a meticulously crafted slow burn.... Haines writes gracefully, immersing readers in Iris's perceptive thoughts, suffering, and transformation. Nuanced relationships and a social climate shadowed by ethnic tension and war result in a compelling reflection on a complex era." --"Publishers Weekly" ."..the compelling characters, superb setting, and myriad twists and turns will keep readers intrigued till the very end." --"SLJ" "Take a powder, Nancy Drew. 1940s girl sleuth Iris Anderson is on the case. A stylish, slang-filled teen noir that is as entertaining as it is absorbing." --Kirkus "What makes this such a standout is the cast. Sounding like they're right out of the 1940s (well, a 1940's movie, anyway), the characters, young and old, pop off the pages. Iris, intriguing and infuriating, captures the tension inherent in the teenage years, no matter what the decade. This joint is jumping." --"Booklist", Starred Review "Iris' story has considerable crossover appeal, enticing both mystery lovers and historical fiction fans, with a cunningly devised plot and a cast of period-specific characters..." --"BCCB"show more

About Kathryn Miller Haines

KATHRYN MILLER HAINES is an actor, mystery writer, and award-winning playwright. She lives in Western Pennsylvania with her husband, son, and their three dogs. The author of the popular Rosie Winter mystery series, this is her first novel for young adults. Visit her at www.kathrynmillerhaines.com.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X