Giraldus Odonis O.F.M.: Opera Philosophica.

Giraldus Odonis O.F.M.: Opera Philosophica. : Vol. I. <i>Logica</i>. Critical Edition from the Manuscripts

Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


This volume contains the first critical edition of the Logica written by Giraldus Odonis, a 14th century anti-occamist Franciscan master, who was minister general of the Order (1329-42) and died of the plague in 1349, as patriarch of Antioch. He is mainly known as the author of an influential commentary on Aristotle's Ethics (Venice, 1500). Despite the fact that the well-known medievalist Dr. Anneliese Maier regarded him as 'one of the most original and most courageous philosophers of the 14th century', most of his other works are still unedited.
The three parts of Girald's Logica demonstrate his original approach to common logical and metaphysical doctrines. The third tract, on demonstrative argument, is of singular importance. Throughout his Logica, Girald's view on the relationship between logico-semantics and metaphysics come to the fore.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 543 pages
  • 158.75 x 234.95 x 38.1mm | 1,123g
  • Leiden, Netherlands
  • English
  • Critical
  • Critical ed.
  • 9004109501
  • 9789004109506

Table of contents


1. Giraldus Odonis O.F.M. Life and Works
2. His Logica. The Manuscripts
3. The Contents
4. Some Remarks on the Relation between Logic and Metaphysics
5. Editorial Principles
6. Orthography. Punctuation. Headings

List of Manuscripts
show more

About L. M. De Rijk

L.M. de Rijk, Ph.D. (1952) in Philosophy, University of Utrecht, was born in 1924. He is Emeritus Professor of Ancient and Medieval Philosophy at the University of Leiden, and Honorary Professor at the University of Maastricht. He is the author of a large number of publications on ancient and medieval philosophy, including Abailard's Dialectica (1956), a work on terminist logic, Logica Modernorum (1962-1967), Peter of Spain's Summule logicales (1972), La philosophie au moyen age (Brill, 1985), and The Letters of Nicholas of Autrecourt (Brill, 1994).
show more