Gillespie and I

Gillespie and I

3.82 (3,453 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman's friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris's Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London's Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I "a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine." Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 504 pages
  • 136 x 210 x 24mm | 431g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Maps
  • 0062103202
  • 9780062103208
  • 622,203

Back cover copy

From the award-winning author of The Observations comes a beautifully conjured and wickedly sharp tale of art and deception in nineteenth-century Scotland.

As she sits in her Bloomsbury home with her two pet birds for company, elderly Harriet Baxter recounts the story of her friendship with Ned Gillespie--a talented artist whose life came to a tragic end before he ever achieved the fame and recognition that Harriet maintains he deserved.

In 1888, young Harriet arrives in Glasgow during the International Exhibition. After a chance encounter with Ned, she befriends the Gillespie family and soon becomes a fixture in their lives. But when tragedy strikes, culminating in a notorious criminal trial, the certainty of Harriet's new world rapidly spirals into suspicion and despair.

Infused with rich period detail, shot through with sly humor, and featuring a memorable cast of characters, Gillespie and I is an absorbing, atmospheric tale of one young woman's friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him--a tour de force from one of the emerging names of modern fiction.
show more

Review quote

"This is a compelling, suspenseful and highly enjoyable novel--but what stands out is the way in which this narrative provokes us to think again about what we imagine, and what we hope for, and about the burdens that those hopes and imaginings impose upon those around us."--The Times (London)
show more

Rating details

3,453 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 27% (936)
4 41% (1,400)
3 22% (770)
2 7% (255)
1 3% (92)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X