The Gilded Chamber
27%
off

The Gilded Chamber : A Novel of Queen Esther

3.68 (2,298 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For centuries her name has been a byword for feminine beauty, guile, and wisdom. This sweeping, meticulously researched novel restores Esther to her full, complex humanity while reanimating the glittering Persian empire in which her story unfolded. Esther comes to that land as a terrified Jewish orphan betrothed to her cousin, a well-connected courtier. She finds a world racked by intrigue and unfathomable hatreds and realizes that the only way to survive is to win the heart of its king. Passionate, suspenseful, and historically authentic, The Gilded Chamber illuminates the dilemma of a woman torn between her heart and her sense of duty, resulting in pure narrative enchantment.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 353 pages
  • 132 x 197 x 18mm | 272g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0143035339
  • 9780143035336

Review quote

"The Gilded Chamber is a world unto itself and one well worth entering." --Margaret George, author of Mary, Called Magdalene

"A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers--and lovers of Jewish history." --Steven Pressfield, author of Gates of Fire

"Fans of Orson Scott Card's Sarah and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent have a new author to follow in Kohn." --Library Journal

"Evocatively and sensuously told." --Booklist

"Evokes Anita Diamant's The Red Tent in style and Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha in setting." --The Jewish Journal
show more

About Rebecca Kohn

Rebecca Kohn lives in Hanover, New Hampshire, with her husband and daughter. The Gilded Chamber is is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

2,298 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 21% (490)
4 38% (880)
3 30% (690)
2 9% (199)
1 2% (39)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X