The Gilded Chamber
27%
off

The Gilded Chamber

3.69 (2,222 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

One girl, one nation, one chance . . .Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death. The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace.This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 26mm | 322.06g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141020504
  • 9780141020501
  • 764,863

Review quote

"The Gilded Chamber" is a world unto itself and one well worth entering. (Margaret George, author of "Mary, Called Magdalene") A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers?and lovers of Jewish history. (Steven Pressfield, author of "Gates of Fire") Fans of Orson Scott Card's "Sarah" and Anita Diamant's "The Red Tent" have a new author to follow in Kohn. ("Library Journal") Evocatively and sensuously told. ("Booklist") Evokes Anita Diamant's "The Red Tent" in style and Arthur Golden's "Memoirs of a Geisha" in setting.? ("The Jewish Journal")
show more

About Rebecca Kohn

Rebecca Kohn lives in New Hampshire with her husband and daughter. The Gilded Chamber is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

2,222 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 21% (472)
4 39% (861)
3 30% (666)
2 8% (188)
1 2% (35)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X