The Ghosts of Heaven
25%
off

The Ghosts of Heaven

3.68 (2,496 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Timeless, beautiful, and haunting, spirals connect the four episodes of The Ghosts of Heaven, the mesmerizing new novel from Printz Award winner Marcus Sedgwick. They are there in prehistory, when a girl picks up a charred stick and makes the first written signs; there tens of centuries later, hiding in the treacherous waters of Golden Beck that take Anna, who people call a witch; there in the halls of a Long Island hospital at the beginning of the 20th century, where a mad poet watches the oceans and knows the horrors it hides; and there in the far future, as an astronaut faces his destiny on the first spaceship sent from earth to colonize another world. Each of the characters in these mysterious linked stories embarks on a journey of discovery and survival; carried forward through the spiral of time, none will return to the same place. This title has Common Core connections.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 359 pages
  • 149.86 x 210.82 x 35.56mm | 439.98g
  • Roaring Brook Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1626721254
  • 9781626721258
  • 405,670

Review quote

MIDWINTERBLOOD2014 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature"A tale for the ages, expertly spun and completely satisfying." --Eoin Colfer, New York Times Book Review"Its strange spell will capture you." --Booklist, starred review"The Time traveler's Wife meets Lost in this chilling exploration of love and memory." --Kirkus, starred review"A story that's simultaneously romantic, tragic, horrifying, and transcendental." --Publishers Weekly, starred reviewWHITE CROW"Teens will have no choice but to continue until the last page is turned." --SLJ, starred review"Masterfully plotted to keep the suspense ratcheting ever higher." --Kirkus, starred review"Sedgwich keeps readers guessing to the very end." --PW, starred reviewREVOLVERA Printz Honor book"A chilling, atmospheric story." --Kirkus, starred review"will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy." --The Horn Book, starred review"a thrillingly told tale." --PW, starred reviewshow more

About Marcus Sedgwick

Marcus Sedgwick has always been fascinated with spirals, which occur throughout nature from the microscopic to the interstellar. Fundamentally elegant and mesmerizing, many cultures and individuals have ascribed a special meaning to the form. He is the author of more than a dozen books for young adults, including She Is Not Invisible, Midwinterblood, which won the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award, White Crow, and Revolver, a Printz Award Honor Book. He lives near Cambridge, England.show more

Rating details

2,496 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 27% (665)
4 33% (827)
3 27% (671)
2 9% (220)
1 5% (113)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X