Ghostly Echoes
36%
off

Ghostly Echoes

4.11 (2,068 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny's fiance, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realise that Jenny's case isn't so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected. Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail's race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues' grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 21mm | 453.59g
  • Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1616205792
  • 9781616205799
  • 52,363

Back cover copy

Possession. Jenny wanted to attempt possession, and in my foolish eagerness I agreed. The office faded into a blinding haze of whiteness, and together Jenny and I tumbled into a world of mist and cold and pain . . . . . . and out the other side. PRAISE FOR THE JACKABY SERIES: "Fast-paced and full of intrigue." --EW.com "The murderous plot beautifully melds modern storytelling and classic fables . . . We honestly couldn't put it down." --Nerdist.com "Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer." --Chicago Tribune "Recommend this to readers who enjoy Doctor Who, Supernatural, Grimm . . . and, of course, Sherlock Holmes stories, and who are ready to stay up into the wee hours reading." --VOYA, starred reviewshow more

Review quote

-Ritter's latest glorious fusion of detective novel, ghost story, and fantasy. And, refreshingly, Ritter opts to pair magic and science here, rather than making them oppositional. But what may captivate readers most are the intriguing revelations about Jackaby's personal history--and Abigail's star turn at the novel's helm...- -The Horn Book Magazine -Energetic and entertainingly offbeat.- -Kirkus Reviews -This story has everything covered in its mashup of romance, mystery, adventure, horror creatures, fantasy lore, and gothic atmosphere....All readers will not be able to put it down.- -VOYA -Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud's The Screaming Staircase and Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener.- -School Library Journalshow more

Rating details

2,068 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 34% (703)
4 46% (951)
3 18% (375)
2 2% (32)
1 0% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X