Ghost and Bone

Ghost and Bone

3.84 (26 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A twisty middle grade adventure standalone for fans of Neil Gaiman and Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow about a cursed boy who embarks on a journey into a magical city of ghosts to find out who he really is. Oscar Grimstone is a normal kid--aside from his secret Curse. Whenever he touches something living, like a flower or his classroom goldfish, they always seem to die. But then Oscar discovers an even bigger secret: even though he is very much alive, he has the ability to transform into a ghost. Just when he thinks things can't get any stranger two ghosts show up at his home in a skeleton carriage and he winds up joining them on a journey beyond the real world to a place he never knew existed--the city of ghosts. There Oscar will discover a place where people go once they die, before they aboard a ship to the The Other Side. But will he find out who he really is? "Hauntingly entertaining."--BCCB, starred review
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 139 x 210 x 25.4mm | 340.19g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0525643931
  • 9780525643937
  • 23,553

Review quote

"With genuinely despicable bad guys and the sort of good guys who are undeniably fun to root for, Prentice's first foray into middle-grade fiction is hauntingly entertaining."-Bulletin, starred review "A rollicking adventure with imaginative world building.... will evoke laughter and tug heartstrings."--Booklist "A comforting choice for readers nervously anticipating their own first day of school or who are worried about making new friends." --School Library Journal
show more

About Andrew Prentice

Andrew Prentice is the author of two critically acclaimed YA historical novels: Black Arts and Devil's Blood. He likes his stories like he likes his coffee: rich, dark brews in a painstakingly crafted and historically accurate vessel, preferably served by a demon--though a ghost will do just as well. Black Arts was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Prize and longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. He has also written for comics and animation.
show more

Rating details

26 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 27% (7)
4 38% (10)
3 27% (7)
2 8% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X