The Getting of Wisdom

The Getting of Wisdom

3.5 (1,056 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback

List price: US$14.43

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


When Laura Rambotham arrives at an exclusive Melbourne girls school from her country home, she is ridiculed by the other pupils for her differences - her name, her unusual clothes and, especially, for her 'unpardonable sin': her exceptional musical ability. Laura endures ostracism and misery as she tries to make herself socially acceptable to her vicious peers, never quite succeeding but learning much about the world and its inhabitants along the way.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 296 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 25mm | 497g
  • Hawthorn, Australia
  • 0143569694
  • 9780143569695
  • 1,846,397

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

About Henry Handel Richardson

'Henry Handel Richardson' was the pen-name of Ethel Florence Lindesay Richardson, who was born in Melbourne, Australia in 1870. Her father was a medical graduate of Edinburgh University, and her mother was the daughter of a Leicester solicitor; they married after migrating to Australia during the Victorian goldrushes. After her father's death in 1879, her mother worked as a postmistress in country towns, but later she was able to take Ethel and her sister Lilian to Europe, to study music at Leipzig. Ethel, who became a skilled pianist, married John George Robertson, a science graduate turned philologist. Robertson was appointed Professor of German and Scandinavian Languages and Literatures at London University in 1903, where he became one of the foremost scholars of his day. By this time Ethel had begun to write, having given up all thought of a musical career. Her first novel, Maurice Guest, was published in 1908 and had a number of imitators. Her second, The Getting of Wisdom, published in 1910 was described by H. G. Wells as the best school story he knew. Her most important work was The Fortunes of Richard Mahony, published in three volumes, comprising Australia Felix, The Way Home and Ultima Thule, from 1917 to 1929. After the death of her husband in 1933, Richardson moved to a house near Hastings with her devoted companion Olga Roncoroni. The End of a Childhood and Other Stories was published in 1934 and the novel The Young Cosima in 1939 when she was sixty-nine years old. During the war she began an autobiography, Myself When Young, but, left it unfinished at her death in 1946. A short while before her death, she signed a contract with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer for the film rights of The Fortunes of Richard Mahony, but production was suspended and not resumed.
show more

Rating details

1,056 ratings
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 15% (158)
4 38% (397)
3 33% (352)
2 11% (118)
1 3% (31)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X