Generation Misfits

Generation Misfits

4.08 (106 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Eleven-year-old Millie Nakakura is starting sixth grade at a real school for the first time in her life. Previously homeschooled, Millie dreams of finally making friends and having a little bit of freedom-though this proves tricker than she expected.

Then she spots a flyer for an after-school club for fans of Japanese pop music, which she loves more than anything else in the world. Millie makes true friends with this crew of misfits, and when of their members starts to bend under the strain of a troubled home life, the friends band together to help her get through these tough times. Generation Misfits is an emotionally resonant, diverse, and inclusive book that's perfect for readers who loved Real Friends and Stand Up, Yumi Chung.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 148 x 218 x 33mm | 410g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0374313741
  • 9780374313746
  • 1,292,536

Review quote

A heart-warming story about friendship that will have readers cheering for Millie and her friends. --Debbi Michiko Florence, author of Keep It Together, Keiko Carter

"A rhythmic, melodic story of friendship and bravery. You'll not only root for Millie and her misfits--you'll want to join them." --Ashley Herring Blake, author of Stonewall Honor Book Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

Akemi Dawn Bowman's debut middle grade novel hits all the right notes with this authentic, vulnerable, and triumphant tale of coming into your own space with courage and grace. --Jessica Kim, author of Stand Up, Yumi Chung

This character-centered coming-of-age novel features authentic dialogue with a fully realized cast of diverse characters, and celebrates the power, importance, and value of friendship. Highly recommended for school and public library collections. --School Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

...the book is uncondescending and happily celebratory about the fandom experience and what it means to the kids. Never mind cool: sincerity and enthusiasm rule here in a book that believes fervently in the value and joy of friendship. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (BCCB), STARRED REVIEW

One of the great themes of the book is how everyone is going through something ... Bowman also gets into the good, bad, and ugly of what it means to be a friend. A great read for both misfits and insiders, this encourages readers to embrace their true selves. --Booklist

A sincere story about being true to oneself and others. --Kirkus
show more

About Akemi Dawn Bowman

Akemi Dawn Bowman is the award-winning author of Starfish, Summer Bird Blue, Harley in the Sky, The Infinity Courts series, and Generation Misfits. She's a proud Ravenclaw and Star Wars enthusiast who served in the US Navy for five years and has a BA in social sciences from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. She currently lives in Scotland with her husband, two children, and their Pekingese mix. Generation Misfits is her first middle grade novel. akemidawnbowman.com
show more

Rating details

106 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 36% (38)
4 42% (44)
3 19% (20)
2 3% (3)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X