The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath
18%
off

The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath

3.88 (128 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Shortlisted for Best Newcomer at the 2022 British Fantasy Awards Fight the Storm. Protect your people.
The endless rotstorm rages over the ruins of the Ferron Empire. Flore would never let the slavers of the Empire rise again. As a warrior of the Stormguard Commandos, she wrought horrors in the rotstorm to protect her people. She did her duty and left the bloodshed behind.

Fight for your family.
Flore's peace is shattered when blazing orbs of light cut through the night sky and descend on her village. Her daughter is abducted and Flore is forced into a chase across a land of twisted monsters and ancient gods. She must pursue the mysterious orbs, whose presence could herald the return of the Empire she spent her entire life fighting.

Destroy your enemies.
Now, Flore must take up the role she had sworn to put aside and become the weapon the Stormguard trained her to be, to save not only her daughter, but her people...

Read this action-packed and unique fantasy adventure from debut Scottish author, Ian Green. Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive series or Sam Sykes' Seven Blades In Black.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 145 x 228 x 39.37mm | 653.17g
  • Head of Zeus -- an AdAstra Book
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 180024410X
  • 9781800244108
  • 1,358,555

Review quote

Excellent, vivid worldbuilding... A gripping story with cinematic detail' * British Fantasy Society * An exciting and action-packed fantasy novel... Some disturbing and interesting ideas give the book a twist, but it also feels comfortably like a fantasy novel that any fan of the genre can enjoy' * SF Book Review * Green's worldbuilding is unique and creative... This book appeals to both enthusiasts of high fantasy as well as the more everyday fantasy reader. Epic action, deep world-building, and colourful characters make for a magical debut, forged in compelling inspirations... There's plenty more magic to come' * The Publishing Planet * 'The unrelentingly dark tone enables Green to maintain a high level of suspense throughout. Fans of Anthony Ryan will welcome this and its sequels' * Publishers Weekly *
show more

About Ian Green

Ian Green is a writer from Northern Scotland with a PhD in epigenetics. His fiction has been widely broadcast and performed, including winning the BBC Radio 4 Opening Lines competition and winning the Futurebook Future Fiction prize. His short fiction has been published by Londnr, Almond Press, OpenPen, Meanjin, Transportation Press, The Pigeonhole, No Alibi Press, Minor Lits, and more. @ianthegreen www.ianthegreen.com
show more

Rating details

128 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 30% (39)
4 41% (52)
3 18% (23)
2 8% (10)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X