The Gathering of the Lost

The Gathering of the Lost

4.12 (594 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world."
--Robin Hobb, author of Dragon Haven

"[Lowe] reinvigorates the epic fantasy with appealing characters and a richly detailed world."
--Library Journal

Sure to become an epic fantasy classic, Helen Lowe's magnificent Wall of Night series is big, ambitious, and gorgeously drawn--a story of bravery, treachery, and cataclysm in a richly imagined world. The Gathering of the Lost is the second of four books set in a fantastic imperiled realm garrisoned by nine great Houses and protected from the terrible Darkswarm by the towering mountain range that gives the series its name. Supremely literate, brilliantly imagined and executed fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Barbara Hambly, The Gathering of the Lost is populated by a grand cast of unforgettable characters, some still holding to the beleaguered Wall, others scattered in their quest for the fabled Heir of Night, who vanished from their midst five years earlier.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 652 pages
  • 104.14 x 170.18 x 38.1mm | 317.51g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0061734055
  • 9780061734052
  • 111,855

Review quote

Helen Lowe writes wonderful stories, yes, but her work also speaks with lyricism to deeper questions of how we treat each other. With lovely prose that brings vivid life to her characters, she creates a universe with people we care about. This is an author with a gift for fantasy. --Nebula Award-winning author Catherine Asaro"
show more

Back cover copy

Garrisoned by the Nine Houses of the Derai, the towering mountain range called the Wall of Night is all that separates the people of Haarth from the terrible Darkswarm.

Five years have passed since the Wall was breached and the Keep of Winds nearly overrun. Five years since the Heir of Night, Malian, and her friend and ally Kalan went missing in the wild lands of Jaransor.

Now, in Haarth's diverse southern realms, events are moving. From the wealthy River city of Ij to the isolated Emerian outpost of Normarch, rumors of dark forces and darker magics are growing. As the great Midsummer tournament at Caer Argent approaches, Haarth will have one opportunity to band together against an enemy in which few believe . . . or be lost forever.
show more

Rating details

594 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 39% (231)
4 40% (239)
3 16% (98)
2 3% (17)
1 2% (9)

Our customer reviews

The Gathering of the Lost - The Heir of Night Book 2 Helen Lowe This book is weighty and comprises a prologue and five parts. A long, wordy story but unputdownable and a fantastic tale. If you enjoy epic fantasy, read this! It can be read alone but for back-story you should read "The Heir of Night" first. Malian and Kalen have fled the Derai world and are resting in the Winter Country, before resuming their flight to the south, separately. The prologue contains Malian's dream and explains why the two must travel separate paths. Jehane Mor and Tarathan of Ar are the Heralds thought to have helped Malian and Kalen flee The Wall of Night into one of the lands of Haarth. They are heading for Ij and the festival there, and encounter new characters on their journey, such as Tirorn and Aravenor. There, complex alliances are revealed, before the mystery and action begins. The next part introduces Maister Carick and the knights and damosels of Normarch. They have many adventures and end up in Emer for a tourney and the Midsummer Festival. There, the alliances grow more complex and many different forces come into play. Meanwhile, Malian is still searching for the legendary weapons of Derai's great hero, and aid for defeating the Swarm, who threaten the Wall of Night and all the lands of Haarth. The characters were very 'real', you felt you knew them. The plot was fast-paced, tightly woven and there were unexpected twists. I didn't see a lot of things coming and when the unexpected was revealed it was "oh, of course, that makes sense!" My one complaint is it ended too soon and now I have to wait for the next one. It will be worth the wait though. This series is addictive.show more
by Jan
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X