A Game of Thrones
27%
off

A Game of Thrones

4.44 (1,473,227 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all--the perfect holiday gift for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO's Game of Thrones. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin's landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones--featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter--revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE With a special foreword by John Hodgman Winter is coming, and in the frozen wastes to the North, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom's protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a region of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale rife with plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, as each faction endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 880 pages
  • 165 x 239 x 51mm | 1,293g
  • Bantam
  • English
  • Illustrated
  • Illustrated ed.
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0553808044
  • 9780553808049
  • 121,319

Review quote

"The major fantasy of the decade . . . compulsively readable."--Denver Post "We have been invited to a grand feast and pageant: George R.R. Martin has unveiled for us an intensely realized, romantic but realistic world."--Chicago Sun-Times "A Best Book of 1996: Martin makes a triumphant return to high fantasy . . . [with] superbly developed characters, accomplished prose, and sheer bloodymindedness."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "A splendid saga . . . . Inventive and intricately plotted."--BookPage "Magic . . . George R.R.Martin's first fantasy epic [is set] well above the norms of the genre."--Locus "Such a splendid tale and such a fantasticorical! I read my eyes out and couldn't stop 'til I finished and it was dawn."--Anne McCaffrey From the Paperback edition.show more

About George R R Martin

George R. R. Martin is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of many novels, including the acclaimed series A Song of Ice and Fire--A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons--as well as Tuf Voyaging, Fevre Dream, The Armageddon Rag, Dying of the Light, Windhaven (with Lisa Tuttle), and Dreamsongs Volumes I and II. He is also the creator of The Lands of Ice and Fire, a collection of maps from A Song of Ice and Fire featuring original artwork from illustrator and cartographer Jonathan Roberts, and The World of Ice & Fire, with Elio M. Garcia, Jr., and Linda Antonsson. As a writer-producer, he has worked on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and pilots that were never made. He lives with the lovely Parris in Santa Fe, New Mexico.show more

Review Text

"The major fantasy of the decade . . . compulsively readable."-Denver Post "We have been invited to a grand feast and pageant: George R.R. Martin has unveiled for us an intensely realized, romantic but realistic world."-Chicago Sun-Times "A Best Book of 1996: Martin makes a triumphant return to high fantasy . . . [with] superbly developed characters, accomplished prose, and sheer bloodymindedness."-Publishers Weekly, starred review "A splendid saga . . . . Inventive and intricately plotted."-BookPage "Magic . . . George R.R.Martin's first fantasy epic [is set] well above the norms of the genre."-Locus "Such a splendid tale and such a fantasticorical! I read my eyes out and couldn't stop 'til I finished and it was dawn."-Anne McCaffrey From the Paperback edition.show more

Rating details

1,473,227 ratings
4.44 out of 5 stars
5 61% (895,242)
4 28% (412,116)
3 8% (116,009)
2 2% (29,488)
1 1% (20,372)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X