The Gallery

The Gallery

3.73 (1,223 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties!

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household--specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story--and that the paintings in the Sewell's gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell? Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love. * "This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics." --Booklist, starred review
show more

Product details

  • 10+
  • Paperback | 321 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 249.48g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • PUFFIN
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142427705
  • 9780142427705
  • 103,342

Review quote

Praise for The Gallery * "This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics...readers will certainly be swept up by Martha's pluck and the mystery's many layers."--Booklist, starred review "A solid, fast-moving mystery for historical fiction fans, with nods to art history and mythology."--School Library Journal "Offer this to fans of Blue Balliett who like sophisticated adventures."--Publishers Weekly "Fitzgerald's interest in art and history inform this puzzle of a novel, with Jane Eyre, Sacco and Vanzetti, the dying art of vaudeville, chemistry, and the 1929 stock market crashes all playing roles."--The Horn Book "A rollicking 1920s madcap mystery....Fitzgerald has neatly developed Martha as a perfectly period-appropriate spunky-girl protagonist readers will root for." --Kirkus Reviews "Young teens will enjoy [Martha's] impertinence and determination, and may not even notice that they are learning a little bit about the Sacco and Vanzetti trial and the 1928 presidential election, as well as the stock market crash of 1929." --VOYA Praise for Under the Egg Under the Egg is the winner of the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association Best Middle Grade Book of the Year award! "It's really a very compelling read and I don't know how she did it."--Kate DiCamillo on NPR * "A riveting narrative."--Booklist, starred review * "Fans of Konigsburg's From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Balliett's Chasing Vermeer will thrill at the chance to solve a new mystery centered around art."--Library Media Connection, starred review "Laura Marx Fitzgerald creates the perfect adventure...any girl will love this book."--Girls Life

"Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered."--School Library Journal Fuse 8 Blog "Riveting from start to finish."--BookPage
show more

About Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Laura Marx Fitzgerald studied art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. Her first book for young readers, Under the Egg, won the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association's Middle Grade Book of the Year award. Laura lives in Montclair, New Jersey.
show more

Rating details

1,223 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 19% (231)
4 43% (523)
3 32% (394)
2 5% (60)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X