Front Lines

Front Lines

4.09 (5,568 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families--to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 576 pages
  • 147 x 213 x 43mm | 590g
  • English
  • 0062342150
  • 9780062342157
  • 845,931

Back cover copy

1942 World War II

The most terrible war in human history. Millions are dead; millions more are still to die. The Nazis rampage across Europe and eye far-off America.

The green, untested American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled--the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

But something has changed. A court decision makes females subject to the draft and eligible for service. So in this World War II, women and girls fight, too.

As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering. Not one expects to see actual combat. Not one expects to be on the front lines.

Rio, Frangie, and Rainy will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the future of the human race. They will fear and they will rage; they will suffer and they will inflict suffering; they will hate and they will love. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant has created a masterful alternate history of World War II in Front Lines, the first volume in a groundbreaking series.

"Michael Grant is a master of twists that not only tear at his readers' consciences, they hold a mirror up to our here and now and insist we consider what might otherwise be. Front Lines is a masterpiece of speculative story crafting."--Andrew Smith, Michael L. Printz Honor-Winning Author of Grasshopper Jungle

"What if American women had fought alongside men in World War II? Michael Grant gives us a magnificent alternate history that feels so real and right and true it seems impossible that it wasn't. Every one of these fictional soldiers has wrapped herself around my heart."--Elizabeth Wein, Michael L. Printz Honor Winner And New York Times Bestselling Author of Code Name Verity

"Front Lines does what great epics are meant to do: tells us the human side of history with honesty, wit, and clarity. Just because it didn't happen this way doesn't mean it isn't true."--C. Alexander London, Author of Proxy and The Dog Tags and Tides Of War Series
show more

Review quote

"Fascinating and powerful. This alternate history of WWII is relevant to the American military today, where men and women serve side by side. Men have no monopoly on courage or determination, and they never did. A great book." -- Wayne K. Maynard, Major, USA (Ret.), Ph.D.

"What if American women had fought alongside men in World War II? Michael Grant gives us a magnificent alternate history that feels so real and right and true it seems impossible that it wasn't. Every one of these fictional soldiers has wrapped herself around my heart." -- Elizabeth Wein, Award-winning and New York Times Bestselling Author of Code Name Verity

★ "The history is illuminating and fascinating, but where Grant excels even more is in the immersive storytelling and compelling bonds among the multifaceted characters. Just as classic war novels demonstrate how war can reveal common humanity, Grant's exploration of women in battle is no different." -- Booklist (starred review)

★ "All of the protagonists are well-developed individuals, but also represent 'every soldier girl who carried a rifle, dug a hole, slogged through mud, steamed or froze, prayed or cursed, raged or feared, ran away or ran toward.' A gripping and heart-wrenching tale." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The main characters are all well-drawn, strong women, and the wartime events are well researched and accurate. The alternative history and wartime plot, which reads like a movie, will appeal to many." -- School Library Journal

"The experiences of female soldiers in the military are plainly and honestly depicted...an immersive, powerful tale." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"The fast pace of this novel, along with its relatable characters and engaging plot, will easily draw in reluctant readers. Grant's well-researched details of living conditions that WWII soldiers endured will appeal to fans of historical fiction. Readers of this book will be anxiously awaiting the sequel." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"Michael Grant is a master of twists that not only tear at his readers' consciences, they hold a mirror up to our here and now and insist we consider what might otherwise be. FRONT LINES is a masterpiece of speculative story crafting." -- Andrew Smith, Michael L. Printz Honor winning author of Grasshopper Jungle

"Front Lines does what great epics are meant to do: tells us the human side of history with honesty, wit, and clarity. Just because it didn't happen this way, doesn't mean it isn't true." -- C. Alexander London, author of Proxy and Dog Tags and Tides of War series
show more

Rating details

5,568 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 39% (2,156)
4 40% (2,210)
3 15% (852)
2 4% (229)
1 2% (121)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X