From Agamben to Zizek

From Agamben to Zizek : Contemporary Critical Theorists

3.2 (5 ratings by Goodreads)
Edited by  , Contributions by  , Contributions by  , Contributions by  , Contributions by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?


In these 15 taster essays you will discover the key concepts and critical approaches of the theorists who have had the most significant impact on the humanities since 1990. On completing each chapter, you will find suggestions for further reading so that you can find out more and start applying the ideas in question. In addition to chapters on individuals such as Badiou, Ranciere and Spivak, there are chapters on Laclau and Mouffe, and a chapter on Green critical theorists. Key Features *Written by experienced lecturers including John Armitage (Northumbria University), Paul Hegarty (University College Cork), David Huddart (Chinese University of Hong Kong), Simon Tormey (The University of Sydney), Samuel A. Chambers (Johns Hopkins University) *Sets each theorist in their biographical and intellectual context *The only book to offer chapter-length introductions to such a range of contemporary theorists making it the first place to look for an informed overview and evaluation *Jon Simons has edited two other popular guides to critical theory: From Kant to Levi-Strauss: The Background to Contemporary Critical Theory and Contemporary Critical Theorists: From Lacan to Said.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 22.86mm | 563g
  • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New
  • 074863973X
  • 9780748639731

About Jonathan Simons

Jon Simons is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication and Culture at Indiana University who has broad expertise in contemporary critical theory. He is the author of Foucault and the Political (Routledge, 1995) and the editor of and contributor to From Kant to Levi-Strauss: The Background to Contemporary Critical Theory and Contemporary Critical Theorists: From Lacan to Said (Edinburgh University Press, 2002 & 2004 respectively). John Armitage is Professor of Media at Northumbria University
show more

Table of contents

Acknowledgements; Notes on Contributors; Introduction, Jon Simons; 1. Giorgio Agamben (1942 -), Paul Hegarty; 2. Alain Badiou (1937 -), Benjamin Robinson; 3. Zygmunt Bauman (1925 -), Peter Beilharz; 4. Homi K. Bhabha (1949 -), David Huddart; 5. Judith Butler (1956 -), Moya Lloyd; 6. Cornelius Castoriadis (1922-1997), Caroline Williams; 7. Green critical theorists, David Kidner; 8. Donna J. Haraway (1944 -), Joan Faber McAlister; 9. Ernesto Laclau (1935 -) and Chantal Mouffe (1943 -), Simon Tormey; 10. Bruno Latour (1947 -), Ilana Gershon; 11. Antonio Negri (1933 -), Arianna Bove; 12. Jacques Ranciere (1940 -), Samuel A. Chambers; 13. Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak (1942 -), Stephen Morton; 14. Paul Virilio (1932 -), John Armitage; 15. Slavoj ae'iae'ek (1949 -), Matthew Sharpe; Index.
show more

Rating details

5 ratings
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 40% (2)
3 40% (2)
2 20% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X