Fringe-Ology
18%
off

Fringe-Ology : How I Tried to Explain Away the Unexplainable-And Couldn't

3.83 (687 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Fringe-Ologybrings a poet's eye to the frayed edges between the known and unknown, beliefand skepticism. . . . A dive into the paranormal even a hardcore skeptic like myselfcan enjoy." --Mat Johnson, author of Pym
Takea strange and unsettling trip into the heart of the paranormal universe asjournalist Steve Volk tries to answer some of the most fundamental questions atthe heart of human existence. Fringe-ology will appeal to anyone curiousbut cautious about reports of paranormal experiences, psychic phenomena, andother unexplainable events--anyone who has ever wondered about the existence anafterlife, intelligent life on other planets, or the limits of extrasensoryperception. For fans of Fringe, Mythbusters, Medium, Heroes, Nova, and Lost, Volk'sscintillating journey into mystery illuminates the furthest boundaries ofpossibility and wonder.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 321 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 22.86mm | 249.47g
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0061857726
  • 9780061857720
  • 501,871

Review quote

A sharply written, intelligently argued book that should appeal equally to believers and skeptics. --Booklist"
show more

Back cover copy

Paranormal claims don't traditionally sit well with reporters, but journalist Steve Volk decided to focus his tenacity on a new beat: a NASA astronaut-turned-mystic, a world-famous psychologist who taught us about dying and decided death may not exist at all, and scientists attempting to verify what mystics have been reporting for millennia. From his journey into the bizarre, Volk discovers that the "fringe" story strikes at the core of what it means to be human.
show more

Rating details

687 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 27% (187)
4 39% (271)
3 25% (170)
2 6% (44)
1 2% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X