Friendship Bread

Friendship Bread

3.75 (6,704 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

In the tradition of Kate Jacobs and Lolly Winston comes a deeply felt, utterly charming novel of three newfound friends and the unexpected gift that will change their lives. In the quiet community of Avalon, Illinois, Julia Evarts wonders how to move on with her life. Though her husband and five-year-old daughter give her an abundance of love, Julia still reels from a tragedy that has left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend. Meanwhile, across town, widow Madeleine Davis takes great pleasure in serving up delectable treats and cozy comforts at her tea salon--now, if only she had some customers to enjoy them. And famed concert cellist and recent Avalon transplant Hannah de Brisay finds herself at a crossroads when her career and marriage come to abrupt ends. The three strangers forge a friendship at Madeleine's Tea Shop, and soon their camaraderie extends to everyone in Avalon in the guise of a unique and wonderful gift. But even as Julia becomes ever closer to her new friends, she realizes the profound necessity of confronting the painful past she shares with her sister. Life and loss, friendship and community, food and family: Friendship Bread tells a spirited, remarkably moving tale about the triumph of hope. Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 132 x 204 x 24mm | 299g
  • Random House Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0345525353
  • 9780345525352
  • 171,030

Review quote

"With heart and soul, Darien Gee has crafted a charming story of love, friendship, tragedy, and the surprising ways healing weaves its way through a small town."--Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

"Deliciously entertaining! You'll root all the way as these characters stumble toward forgiveness, understanding, and, ultimately, celebration. Friendship Bread is a perfect book club selection."--Kate Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author of The Friday Night Knitting Club "As comforting, warm, and delicious as a slice of freshly baked friendship bread."--Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Promises to Keep "Darien Gee's virtuoso storytelling kept me turning pages--and wishing I lived in Avalon!"--Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of Heat Wave "A vivid, tender portrait of friends, a window onto the intricacies of friendship itself."--Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Boat
show more

About Darien Gee

Darien Gee divides her time between Hawaii and the West Coast. She lives with her husband and their three children. Her next novel set in Avalon will be available in 2012.
show more

Rating details

6,704 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 23% (1,523)
4 40% (2,658)
3 29% (1,971)
2 6% (434)
1 2% (118)

Our customer reviews

I found this book to be an easy read, but unfortunately not the kind of book that had me turning the pages to find out what was happening next :( The characters in the book were like-able enough although I did find myself getting rather annoyed with Julia. I must admit that whilst reading I did recall times when I had a "Herman" growing at home and got me wondering if I should get one going again just for the fun of it. What stopped me doing just that was the fact that I too, like some of the residents in Avalon, had Herman coming out of my ears and I really don't want to go there again! Although.......maybe just one batch :) Regrettably, I found this title and it's events to be rather foreseeable, which doesn't allocate many points in it's favour. All in all, not a bad read, but not really my taste. I much prefer a book that has me guessing and turning the pages in anticipation!show more
by natalie
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X