Friends Like These

Friends Like These : 'This summer's must-read' - The Times

3.56 (460 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.56 (460 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 5-8 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

'This summer's must read' - The Times

'An irresistible account of female friendship ... Nobody describes the strength, pain and comedy of being young as elegantly and eloquently as Meg Rosoff' - Amanda Craig

'A wonderful, captivating writer' - Daily Telegraph

__________________

From the incomparable Meg Rosoff, bestselling author of How I Live Now and The Great Godden, comes an alluring coming-of-age tale about the summer that changes everything.

New York City. June, 1982. When eighteen-year-old Beth arrives in Manhattan for a prestigious journalism internship, everything feels brand new - and not always in a good way. A cockroach-infested sublet and a disaffected roommate are the least of her worries, and she soon finds herself caught up with her fellow interns - preppy Oliver, ruthless Dan and ridiculously cool, beautiful, wild Edie.

Soon, Beth and Edie are best friends - the sort of heady, all-consuming best-friendship that's impossible to resist. But with the mercury rising and deceit mounting up, betrayal lies just around the corner. Who needs enemies ... when you have friends like these?

From bestselling, award-winning author Meg Rosoff comes a gritty, intoxicating novel about a summer of unforgettable firsts: of independence, lies, love and the inevitable loss of innocence. Sharp and irresistible, it's perfect for fans of Sally Rooney's Conversations with Friends and Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 31mm | 378g
  • Bloomsbury YA
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1526646110
  • 9781526646118
  • 636,023

Review quote

A magical and utterly faultless voice * Mark Haddon * An irresistible account of female friendship set on the cusp of adulthood in 1980s New York. Nobody describes the strength, pain and comedy of being young as elegantly and eloquently as Meg Rosoff -- Amanda Craig A wonderful, captivating writer * Daily Telegraph * This summer's must-read YA novel * The Times * Highly filmic ... gorgeously evoked * Spectator * There's a touch of The Bell Jar to this 1980s New York-set novel ... Rosoff is a terrific writer, wry and spare, and this engaging read about friendship, work, love and how to survive them would be enjoyed by a teen as much as an adult * Daily Mail * Effortlessly lyrical, moving from straightforward description to devastating emotional truth in the blink of an eye ... a smart, stylish summer read * Irish Times * Beautifully written and evocative ... An intoxicating mix of love, friendship and learning over one unforgettable summer * Reading Zone * From the author of The Great Godden comes another intoxicating coming- of-age tale, this one set in 80s Manhattan * The i Paper * A feel good, coming-of-age treat, with ripples of NYC angst * Jewish Chronicle * Rosoff is on top form in this compelling coming-of-age story * Daily Mirror * This wise and drop-dead funny book is a love song to friendship, to starting out, and to New York * Perspective Magazine *
show more

About Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff is the author of seven young-adult novels including the bestselling How I Live Now. She is the winner of the Carnegie Medal, the Printz Award, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis, an Alex Award and the coveted Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. She lived in New York for nine years, where she worked in publishing and advertising.
show more

Rating details

460 ratings
3.56 out of 5 stars
5 16% (73)
4 36% (164)
3 38% (173)
2 10% (46)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X