Friend or Foe
29%
off

Friend or Foe

3.9 (1,036 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Friend or Foe is a gripping World War II story from War Horse author and former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo. Evacuated from London, David and Tucky feel like the war is a long way away from their new life in the countryside. Then one night the skyline of the moor is lit up with gun flashes, and the distant crump of bombing miles away brings the war back to them and shatters their new-found peace. When a German bomber crashes, the boys feel they should hate the airmen inside. But one of them saves David's life . . . In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War, and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, Friend or Foe is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history. From the author of War Horse (now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg) comes a stunning children's story - loved by kids, teachers and parents alike. Michael Morpurgo has written more than forty books and won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal four times.show more

Product details

  • 9+
  • Paperback | 128 pages
  • 127 x 193.04 x 10.16mm | 113.4g
  • Egmont UK Ltd
  • Egmont Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 2nd edition
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1405233370
  • 9781405233378
  • 9,787

About Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo Former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo needs no introduction. He is one of the most successful children's authors in the country, loved by children, teachers and parents alike. Michael has written more than forty books for children including the global hit War Horse, which was made into a Hollywood film by Steven Spielberg in 2011 Several of his other stories have been adapted for screen and stage, including My Friend Walter, Why the Whales Came and Kensuke's Kingdom. Michael has won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. He started the charity Farms for City Children in 1976 with his wife, Clare, aimed at relieving the "poverty of experience" many young children feel in inner city and urban areas. Michael is also a patron of over a dozen other charities. Living in Devon, listening to Mozart and working with children have provided Michael with the ideas and incentive to write his stories. He spends half his life mucking out sheds with the children, feeding sheep or milking cows; the other half he spends dreaming up and writing stories for children. "For me, the greater part of writing is daydreaming, dreaming the dream of my story until it hatches out - the writing down of it I always find hard. But I love finishing it, then holding the book in my hand and sharing my dream with my readers." Michael received an OBE in December 2006 for his services to literature.show more

Rating details

1,036 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 32% (327)
4 35% (365)
3 27% (277)
2 5% (51)
1 2% (16)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X