A Friend of the Earth
29%
off

A Friend of the Earth

3.65 (2,666 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of The Tortilla Curtain, T.C. Boyle blends idealism and satire in a story that addresses the universal questions of human love and the survival of the species. In the year 2025 global warming is a reality, the biosphere has collapsed, and 75-year-old environmentalist Ty Tierwater is eking out a living as care-taker of a pop star's private zoo when his second ex-wife re-enters his life. Both gritty and surreal, A Friend of the Earth represents a high-water mark in Boyle's career-his deep streak of social concern is effortlessly blended here with genuine compassion for his characters and the spirit of sheer exhilarating playfulness readers have come to expect from his work.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 349 pages
  • 127 x 195.58 x 17.78mm | 226.8g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0141002050
  • 9780141002057
  • 676,695

About T C Boyle

T. C. Boyle is the author of eleven novels, including World's End (winner of the PEN/FaulknerAward), Drop City (a New York Times bestseller and finalist for the National Book Award), and The Inner Circle. His most recent story collections are Tooth and Claw and The Human Fly and Other Stories.
show more

Review quote

Funny and touching, antic and affecting . . . while Boyle's humor is as black as ever, he demonstrates that satire can coexist with psychological realism, comedy with compassion." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times"As disaster tales go, this is a sly, hip one...Boyle has always liked to play circus barker for life's extremes and what better freak show than the environmental apocalypse itself?" --The Washington Post"Both entertaining and informative...hits like a warning shot from twenty-five years into the future." --Chicago Tribune
show more

Rating details

2,666 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 20% (523)
4 38% (1,013)
3 33% (869)
2 8% (204)
1 2% (57)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X