Freeze Dry

Freeze Dry

3.57 (19 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From the bestselling author of Aloha, Mr. Lucky and Too High

"Fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiassen looking for more of the same could help this series catch fire."-Publishers Weekly

Shickie Doone is one of the best con men on the planet. After his latest scam as the leader of a phony religious group called the Brothers of Light doesn't pay quite what he expected, he borrows some cash from local mobster Thadeus Trout. When Shickie takes off with the money, he angers not only Trout, but also his own conniving wife, Rita Rae Deaver.
Trout sends his bumbling son and his buddies to bring in Doone, only one of the henchmen "accidentally" leaves him in a deep freezer for too long, turning the con man into a naked mummy. Eager to dispose of his mistake before his easily angered boss finds out, Doone is dropped into a sinkhole where no one will ever find him . . . only someone does.
Once word spreads of the discovery, a number of groups step up to claim it, including Jimmy Feather, a Native American certain that the mummy is that of his ancient ancestor; the Brothers of Light, convinced the remains are the second coming of their leader after his mysterious "rapture" into heaven; and a senior citizen hitman known as The Hammer, not to mention Shickie's wife and her secret hot-blooded lover, Orlando.
As each group sets out after the body, vowing to let nothing stop them, a series of hilarious and unbelievable events occur that allow the onetime shyster to slip through their fingers again and again . . . and perhaps even have the last con of all.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 149.1 x 217.9 x 36.1mm | 625.97g
  • ST MARTINS PR
  • FORGE
  • English
  • 0765308002
  • 9780765308009

Rating details

19 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 16% (3)
4 42% (8)
3 26% (5)
2 16% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X