Frannie and Tru

Frannie and Tru

3.67 (475 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse." -Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems. Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming-everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she's not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru's worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn't the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him?
Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that's at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 27mm | 399g
  • Harperteen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062410202
  • 9780062410207
  • 1,383,581

Review quote

A Junior Library Guild Selection -- ; "Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse." -- Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda "Hattrup's confrontation with white privilege and Frannie's misguided assumptions surrounding social class and sexual orientation avoid easy platitudes, creating insights ripe for further exploration." -- Publishers Weekly "[A] character-rich work of literary fiction...Tru is endlessly intriguing, and his evolving relationship with Frannie is wholly believable and emotionally engaging." -- Booklist "An honest, revealing, coming-of-age story...will appeal to a wide-range of readers. Frannie's voice is an authentic mix of sincerity and naivete as she struggles with self confidence and first love; family conflict; and, as she is educated in the politics of identity, race, class, and sexuality." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Fans of Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (BCCB 3/08) will appreciate the probing complexity of a working-class white girl finding her feet and her courage." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Hattrup beautifully illustrates issues of privilege and prejudice in her debut. Thought-provoking!" -- RT Book Reviews "Ideal for fans of E. Lockhart and cool, atmospheric narratives." -- The Horn Book
show more

Rating details

475 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 28% (135)
4 27% (127)
3 31% (146)
2 11% (53)
1 3% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X