Francesca Caccini's Il primo libro delle musiche of 1618

Francesca Caccini's Il primo libro delle musiche of 1618 : A Modern Critical Edition of the Secular Monodies

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Francesca Caccini (1587-ca.1640) was an accomplished composer, singer, and instrumentalist in the tradition of the Florentine Camerata. Her 1618 volume Il primo libro delle musiche was dedicated to her patron the Cardinal de' Medici (1596-1666).

This modern critical edition presents 17 secular monodies for one and two voices with figured bass accompaniment from this landmark collection. The book includes text translations, biographical and stylistic essays, recommendations on performance practice, and other commentary.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 96 pages
  • 216 x 278 x 14mm | 281.23g
  • Bloomington, IN, United States
  • English
  • 17 figures, 1 bibliog.
  • 0253211395
  • 9780253211392
  • 902,573

Table of contents

Preliminary Table of Contents:

I. Overview and Commentary
Introduction: Francesca Caccini (1587-ca. 1640)
Il primo libro delle musiche
The Present Edition
Performance Practice
Textual Commentary and Translations

II. The Secular Monodies of Il primo libro delle musiche

[1] Ardo infelice, e palesar non tento
[2] Io mi distruggo, et ardo
[3] Lasciatemi qui solo
[4] Io veggio i campi verdeggiar fecondi
[5] La pastorella mia tra i fiori, e 'l giglio
[6] Rendi alle mie speranze il verde, e i fiori
[7] Dov'io credea le mie speranze vere
[8] S'io men vo, moriro
[9] Non so se quel sorriso
[10] Chi desia di saper che cosa e Amore
[11] Che t'ho fatt'io?
[12] O vive rose
[13] Se muove a giurar fede
[14] Ch'Amor sia nudo, e pur con l'ali al tergo
[15] Fresche aurette
[16] Dispiegate
[17] O chiome belle
show more

Review quote

"A useful book and good value."--Early Music Review, 104, December 2004
show more

About Francesca Caccini

Ronald James Alexander (1961-1990) received a Master of Music Degree at the University of California at Davis, and, at the time of his death, was enrolled in the Ph.D. program in musicology at Stanford University. An avid sports enthusiast and versatile musician, he studied classical guitar and lute at California State University at Sacramento.

Guitarist and lutist Richard Savino is active as featured performer, concerto soloist, and accompanist. His recordings include a collection of monodies by Barbara Strozzi with soprano Emanuela Galli and Ensemble Gallilei (Stradivarius, Milano). He is presently Professor of Music at the California State University at Sacramento.
show more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X