The Fourth Queen

The Fourth Queen

3.46 (562 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$10.52

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

This is a gripping and original historical fiction in the tradition of "The Red Tent" and "Girl with a Pearl Earring". In 1769, when Helen Gloag runs away from her poverty-stricken Scottish village to seek a new life overseas, little does she realize what is in store for her. For before a year is out she will be Queen of Morocco, one of four wives to the cruel and charismatic Emperor Sidi Mohammed. Her home is now the glittering harem in Marrakech, crammed with a thousand concubines and bursting with jewels, silks and spices. But Helen soon realizes there is a deadly danger lurking at the heart of this mysterious court...'A triumph...Like the locked jewel-room in the emperor's palace, "The Fourth Queen" seduces with promise' - "Scotland on Sunday".show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 36mm | 381.02g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0141012420
  • 9780141012421

About Debbie Taylor

Debbie Taylor is editor of Mslexia, the fastest-growing literary magazine in the UK. She lives in Newcastle with her family and this is her first novel.show more

Rating details

562 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 21% (116)
4 27% (154)
3 35% (199)
2 10% (59)
1 6% (34)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X