The Four Loves

The Four Loves

4.16 (53,363 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.16 (53,363 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 5-8 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


C.S. Lewis's famous work on the nature of love divides love into four categories: Affection, Friendship, Eros and Charity. The first three are loves which come naturally to the human race.

Charity, however, the Gift-love of God, is divine in its source and expression, and without the sweetening grace of this supernatural love, the natural loves become distorted and even dangerous.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 176 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 13mm | 170g
  • William Collins
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007461224
  • 9780007461226
  • 4,466

Back cover copy

In praise of C.S. Lewis
"If wit and wisdom, style and scholarship are requisites to passage through the pearly gates, Mr. Lewis will be among the angels." --"The New Yorker
""Brilliant yet accessible." --"U.S. News & World Report
" From one our most revered and beloved writesr and thinkers comes this wise and warmly personal book reflecting on the four basic kinds of human love-- affection, friendship, Eros, charity. C.S. Lewis explores the promise and the perils of love between parents and children; the love that builds between true friends through mutual respect; the dedication it takes to fulfill our visions of erotic love and partnership; and the love of and for God that deepens all others. He considers questions of sex, possessiveness, jealousy, pride, sentimentality, good and bad manners, and the need for more laughter. Love's rewards come with risks, he cautions, but we must take them, and remember that we are seeking to be awakened, to find an Appreciative love through which "all things are possible."
"With a love for beauty, wonder, and magic . . . he speaks to us with all the power and life-changing force of a Plato, a Dante, and a Bunyan."--"Christianity Today" C.S. Lewis gained international renown for an impressive array of works both popular and scholarly: children's literature, fantasy literature, literary criticism, and numerous books on theology. "The Four Loves" is among his most celebrated achievements, along with "The Chronicles of Narnia," "Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, "and "Surprised by Joy."
show more

Review quote

'He has never written better. Nearly every page scintillates with observations which are illuminating, provocative and original.' Church Times
show more

About C. S. Lewis

Born in Ireland in 1898, Clive Staples Lewis gained a triple First at Oxford and was Fellow and Tutor at Magdalen College from 1925-54, where he was a contemporary of Tolkien. In 1954 he became Professor of Mediaeval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge. C. S. Lewis was for many years an atheist, until his conversion, memorably described in his autobiography 'Surprised by Joy': "I gave in, and admitted that God was God ... perhaps the most dejected and reluctant convert in all England." He is celebrated for his famous series of children's books, the Narnia Chronicles (which have been filmed and broadcast many times), as well as his literary criticism and science fiction. C. S. Lewis died on 22nd November 1963.
show more

Rating details

53,363 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 44% (23,603)
4 34% (18,333)
3 16% (8,567)
2 3% (1,819)
1 2% (1,041)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X