The Formula for Murder

The Formula for Murder

3.49 (128 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The world's most famous reporter, the intrepid Nellie Bly, hunts down a murderer in Carol McCleary's "The Formula for Murder.""" History, mystery, murder, and mad science accompany plucky Victorian newspaper reporter Nellie Bly when she travels to the haunted moors of England to investigate the mysterious death of another journalist. Refusing to believe the young writer committed suicide, Nellie's search for the truth takes her from foggy Londontown to the ancient Roman ruins at Bath and the eerie landscape of Dartmoor. Stalked by a killer as she unravels the mystery behind a series of deaths, Nellie encounters a handsome young biology teacher named H. G. Wells, whose knowledge leads Nellie into the realm of science gone mad. Joined by Oscar Wilde, fleeing a sex scandal, and Arthur Conan Doyle, pursuing a legendary beast of the moors, Nellie struggles to stay alive as she hunts down a scientist who is trying to recreate in a test tube the work of God. Join Nellie Bly again in this third installment to Carol McCleary's hit mystery series.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 160.02 x 238.76 x 33.02mm | 521.63g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • New ed.
  • 0765328690
  • 9780765328694
  • 1,175,727

About Carol McCleary

CAROL MCCLEARY was born in Seoul, South Korea, and lived in Hong Kong, Japan, and the Philippines. She now lives on Cape Cod in an antique house that is haunted by ghosts. McCleary is the author of "The Alchemy of Murder "and "The Illusion of Murder."
show more

Review quote

Praise for "The Illusion of Murder""A top-of-the-line read from an innovative author." "--RT Book Reviews ""What a stroke of genius that McCleary chose an early female pioneer of journalism for her sleuth. Nellie proves herself more than capable of racing around the world while solving a couple of murders. Fans of Suzanne Arruda and Rhys Bowen will love this one." "--Library Journal", starred review "Delightful and well-researched."
"--Mystery Scene """The Illusion of Murder "is a rattling good read and a gripping romp." "--Reviewing the Evidence"
show more

Rating details

128 ratings
3.49 out of 5 stars
5 15% (19)
4 38% (49)
3 34% (43)
2 8% (10)
1 5% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X