The Forms and Orders of Western Liturgy from the Tenth to the Eighteenth Century

The Forms and Orders of Western Liturgy from the Tenth to the Eighteenth Century : Historical Introduction and Guide for Students and Musicians

3.82 (17 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$79.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This book is intended as an introduction to the principal forms and orders of Western liturgy between about 900 and 1700, to explain their nature and basic historical origin, and to present in detail the contents and orders of principal services as well as additional and special forms of worship. The book emphasizes the mainstream of Western liturgy derived from the medieval Roman Rite as found in secular and monastic churches. After the Reformation it concentrates on the rites of the Roman Catholic Church and the Church of England. There is consideration of the nature of liturgy, a historical summary, and individual chapters on medieval churches and their communities, the Christian calendar, medieval liturgical books, the Psalms, the Office, the Mass, Processions and Additional Observances, Holy Week and Easter, the Tridentine Rite, and the English Book of Common Prayer. There are two further chapters which raise the problems of establishing the order of a liturgical service, and introduce selected medieval sources accessible in facsimile or edition.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 150 x 230mm | 532g
  • Clarendon Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Annotated
  • Annotated edition
  • 5 figures, bibliography, index, appendices
  • 0193161281
  • 9780193161283

Table of contents

Part 1 Liturgy in the Western church: prologue - what is liturgy?; the formation of Christian liturgy - a historical summary; liturgy and the Medieval Church. Part 2 Medieval liturgy: the liturgical year and calendar; medieval books for the liturgy; the Psalter; the Divine Office; the Mass; processions and other additional observances; Holy Week and Easter. Part 3 After the Reformation: the Tridentine Reform; the reformed liturgy of the Church of England (1549-1662). Part 4 Using liturgical sources: establishing the order of a Latin liturgical celebration; the ordering of selected Medieval sources. Appendices: important features of the liturgical calendar; the Psalter; frequently used choral texts in Latin and English.
show more

Rating details

17 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 18% (3)
4 47% (8)
3 35% (6)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X