The Forgotten Seamstress
18%
off

The Forgotten Seamstress

3.92 (3,791 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A stunning book set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and compelling historical detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris. It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 31mm | 280g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007480849
  • 9780007480845
  • 122,316

About Liz Trenow

Liz worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.show more

Review quote

Praise for Liz Trenow: 'Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history' Midweek, Radio 4 "Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms the centerpiece of the story." Lucinda Riley 'An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.' Daily Express "An intriguing patchwork of past and present, upstairs and downstairs, hope and despair." Daisy Goodwin, 'A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.' Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl 'This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.' Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubineshow more

Rating details

3,791 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 28% (1,049)
4 44% (1,675)
3 22% (850)
2 5% (177)
1 1% (40)

Our customer reviews

Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. The first half was a bit slow and confusing. By the time I hit the halfway point, I was hooked and I didn�?????�????�???�??�?�¢??t want to stop reading this book. As I said, the first half of The Forgotten Seamstress was a bit slow. I thought it would take a long time to get through this book. I guess I really just didn�?????�????�???�??�?�¢??t get what was going on. We are introduced to a character who is being interviewed by another character. We were reading a transcript of the cassette tape of the interview that occurred in 1970. Then, we are introduced to another character in the present-ish day who seemingly doesn�?????�????�???�??�?�¢??t have anything to do with the previous person. I was rather confused through this part. It was interesting but confusing. However, by the halfway point, it all clicked. Did I see where the story was going? Yes. Did I guess the end? Yes, I did (but I�?????�????�???�??�?�¢??ve always been fairly good at that). It still made me happy. It still made me want to keep reading. I couldn�?????�????�???�??�?�¢??t put this book down during the last half. Once I got where it was going, I really started to enjoy the read. It was intriguing and had me wondering the whole time. Who was telling the truth? Could the truth really be what it was? Was the crazy lady sane? What was the story behind the quilt? I wanted to know what the truth was. This was a good, surprising read. Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book. Will I read it again: I may. (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)show more
by Chrissy
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X