Forest Queen

Forest Queen

3.42 (1,047 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

From a New York Times best-selling author, a fresh, female-centered take on the Robin Hood legend in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

When sixteen-year-old Silvie's brother takes over management of their family's vast estates, Silvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 25.4mm | 272.16g
  • Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
  • Boston, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0358133610
  • 9780358133612
  • 1,007,790

Review quote

"A fiercely female, feminist take on the traditional legend....A lush, lovely exploration of the bonds of a community as one girl learns about her own privilege, and, eventually, her strength."--Booklist, STARRED review

"This book brings to light a strong female lead who learns the meaning of caring about others in the community...a great read with parallels to current events."--School Library Journal

"The inspiring ethos, brisk pace, and genuinely thrilling climax all hold attention."--Kirkus
show more

About Betsy Cornwell

Betsy Cornwell is the New York Times best-selling author of The Circus Rose, Mechanica, Venturess, and Tides. She graduated from Smith College and was a columnist and editor at Teen Ink before receiving an MFA in creative writing from Notre Dame, where she also taught fiction. She now lives in Ireland with her family. www.betsycornwell.com
Twitter: @Betsy_Cornwell Instagram: @BetsyCornwell
show more

Rating details

1,047 ratings
3.42 out of 5 stars
5 17% (175)
4 30% (315)
3 36% (380)
2 13% (133)
1 4% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X