For Your Own Good

For Your Own Good : The most addictive psychological thriller you'll read this year

3.88 (14,088 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

SOME LESSONS CAN BE DEADLY... The unputdownable new thriller from the author of international sensation and Richard & Judy pick, MY LOVELY WIFE

'Dark, sly and delicious . . . totally original - and totally compelling' JP DELANEY, bestselling author of PLAYING NICE
'Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever' SARAH PINBOROUGH, bestselling author of BEHIND HER EYES
'Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end' BA PARIS
_______

Teddy Crutcher won Teacher of the Year at Belmont Academy. Everyone thinks he's brilliant.
Only you know the truth.

They all smile when he tells us his wife couldn't be more proud.
But no-one has seen her in a while.

They're impressed when the tragic death of a school parent doesn't distract him.
Even when rumours start to say it was murder.

You're sure Teddy is hiding something about what happened that day.

You're sure you can prove it.

But you didn't stop to think that when it comes to catching a killer, there's no place more dangerous than just one step behind . . .
_______

'An irresistibly tale tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare' TM LOGAN

PRAISE FOR SAMANTHA DOWNING

'Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense' Harlan Coben

'The next Gone Girl' Marie Claire

'The twist at the end of the first chapter made me read through the night' Jane Corry
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 29mm | 481g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241446899
  • 9780241446898
  • 207,809

Review Text

Witty and macabre with a psycho teacher who is so real to me
show more

Review quote

Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever. I didn't think she could outdo My Lovely Wife but I think this one tops it. -- Sarah Pinborough An irresistibly dark tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare -- TM Logan, author of Trust Me and The Holiday Dark, sly and delicious...totally original - and totally compelling -- JP Delaney Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end -- BA Paris Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies will love this fast-paced thriller * Sunday Express * I raced through this, and loved every twist and turn. Brilliant characterisation and ingenious plotting make it an absolute winner. -- Jill Mansell I have loved all of the books by Samantha Downing, and this classroom thriller deserves an A+. Original, dark and highly addictive -- Alice Feeney A brilliant psychological black comedy with a really fresh feel, packed with sly observation and outrageous twists. But creepy Crutcher is the standout character who is truly awful and equally compelling * Daily Mail * I'm a huge fan of Samantha Downing, who is masterful at creating diabolical characters and deliciously chilling plots. An absolutely terrific book! -- Sarah Pekkanen Samantha Downing has achieved something so special in For Your Own Good. A story that is dark as night, sinister as hell, clever, twisting and downright fun -- Chris Whitaker Samantha Downing serves up another cast of deliciously mendacious characters in an exclusive private school setting, where the deadly action drives a brilliantly tense, taut and twisty plot. I may never look at my coffee in the same way again -- Gilly Macmillan Entertaining as hell, with trademark Downing twistedness. I loved it. -- Sam Lloyd, bestselling author of The Memory Wood A slick and chilling thriller, leading readers on a dark, sinuous journey through the halls of Belmont Academy-the type of place where you're never sure who to trust, or who to fear. -- Megan Miranda Dark, twisty, fun, and so original -- Alafair Burke Twistier than a corkscrew and utterly original, For Your Own Good hooked me from the first page with its dark humour and no-let-up suspense -- Victoria Selman Wow! Samantha Downing has done it again. For Your Own Good is utterly compelling, deliciously dark, and with perfect pacing that will have you racing to find out how it ends. I absolutely loved it -- Sarah Bonner A deliciously dark, fast-paced delight of a novel with a maybe-maybe-not villain you'll secretly be rooting for. Highly recommended -- A.J. Park A brilliant psychological thriller * Bella * Downing's spare prose packs a wallop as she deftly ratchets up the suspense with every hairpin turn of this lean, mean, surprising, and utterly propulsive thriller -- Lisa Unger So dark and twisted, so deliciously evil, it'll not only make you frantically turn those pages to find out who's targeting whom, but the wry sense of humor will have you laughing out loud, too. Another phenomenal wild-ride of a read from one of the crime-writing community's most talent authors. Bet you'll never look at high school the same way again -- Hannah Mary McKinnon For Your Own Good is a fresh take on the elite school thriller and the perfect page turner -- Laure Van Rensburg Witty and macabre with a psycho teacher who is so real to me -- Caroline Kepnes Well-orchestrated * Sunday Times * Praise for Samantha Downing -- - We're calling it: My Lovely Wife is the most gripping psychological thriller of 2019... this book will keep you reading late into the night * Stylist * One of my favourite thrillers of the year - I couldn't stop reading but didn't want it to end. Dark, chilling and compelling -- TM Logan, bestselling author of The Holiday Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense -- Harlan Coben One of the best thrillers I've ever read -- Judy Finnigan So beautifully and elegantly written . . . A great twist - I loved it -- Sophie Hannah
show more

About Samantha Downing

Samantha Downing was born in the Bay Area, and currently lives in New Orleans. Her debut novel, My Lovely Wife, was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and a Sunday Times bestseller, and has been published in thirty languages. It won a Dead Good Reader Award, and was shortlisted for four other major awards: The CWA John Creasey Dagger, The Edgar Award for Best First Novel, The ITW Thriller Award for Best First Novel and The Macavity Award for Best First Mystery. Amazon Studios and Nicole Kidman's Blossom Films have partnered to produce a feature film based on the novel. Her second novel, He Started It, was also a Sunday Times bestseller.
show more

Rating details

14,088 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 24% (3,345)
4 47% (6,622)
3 24% (3,327)
2 5% (659)
1 1% (135)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X