Fly on the Wall
5%
off

Fly on the Wall

3.96 (445 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He's forbidden from going anywhere without his sister/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his mum's mafia-style interrogation when Henry's allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN'T take an international flight by himself!

But that's exactly Henry's plan. After the Khoos' trip to visit his dad in Singapore is cancelled, Henry decides he doesn't want to be cooped up with his family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he's hiding a HUGE secret: He's the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr . . . hoping it won't turn into the greatest disaster ever.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 140 x 203 x 33.02mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 2-color illustrations throughout
  • 1250314119
  • 9781250314116
  • 238,508

Review quote

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, Evanston Public Library, and School Library Journal! Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn't a bad thing." --Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp Bright, funny storytelling . . . in this sharp, sweet story there is much to connect with. --The New York Times Book Review * Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid, ' but Henry's character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust. --School Library Journal, starred review * Lai has a talent of not preaching to her readers, instead offering the reassurance that no one is alone in experiencing the painful awkwardness and occasionally harsh realities of growing up. . . This thrilling coming-of-age adventure is both quirky and sincere. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review * Comics-style artwork gives the book Wimpy Kid flair . . . readers will fall in love with Henry. A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser. --Booklist, starred review I absolutely loved the storytelling . . . Add in the copious humor (did I mention it's genuinely laugh-out-loud funny?) and remarkable cathartic journey and you've got yourself a winner. Be careful with this book. It's one of the rare titles that will appeal to a wide range of different kind of readers. Don't say I didn't warn you. -- Fuse #8 Praise for Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor! A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year! A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year! An NPR Best Book of the Year! A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake. . . heartwarming and rib-tickling. --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie * "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." --Shelf Awareness, starred review * Like salted caramel, a perfect balance of flavors, this deftly drawn story is a heartfelt treat. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review Uproarious humor and a burgeoning friendship add to the ingredients in this stunning debut. . . a book to be savored - and the illustrations are the icing on the cake. --NPR * The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant. --School Library Journal, starred review * Lai imbues this [story] with an undeniable sweetness. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review * A delectable page-turner. . . Heartbreakingly honest; in equal parts funny and poignant. --Horn Book, starred review
show more

About Remy Lai

Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. Pie in the Sky is her debut middle-grade novel. Follow Remy on Twitter @Remy_Lai.
show more

Rating details

445 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 28% (126)
4 44% (196)
3 23% (104)
2 4% (18)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X